border

Happy 2nd Month-day!

December 11, 2006 at 2:50 p.m.

2 Months Old Today

I�m in shock� I�m in awe that I�ve been apart of her life for 2 months already. She�s so different, but so much the same helpless, controlling cherub:)

I want to write how she�s grown and/or changed every month, but instead today I�m going to recount my morning with her:

Blessed angel woke up at 6am. That�s 9 and a half hours of sleep, people. Yesss!! I don�t mind getting up to nurse her if it means she�s blessed me with a full night of zzzz�s.

Nursed her, then brought her back into Jared�s and my bed to read scriptures with him. She just laid there between us, wiggling, smiling, and cooing. Your heart just melts, right??

After Jared left, I passed out for another hour while she woke me up periodically to stick the pacifier back in.

When I finally woke up, she was just groggy enough for me to think a shower was possible, so I quickly got that done just before she started announcing that she was tired of being alone.

Decided to give her a bath, but since our hot water is only solar heated, it�s just lukewarm. I still give her baths in the Jacuzzi where I sit in there with her head resting on my lap and her body in the water, filled up just a bit, but I needed to warm the water up for her. Our showerhead is electric so there�s always hot water and the lovely possibility of electrocution, sooo I took a foot-sized plastic tub and filled it up a few times and dumped it into the tub to heat it up for her. It took a lot of work, and she was not happy, crying on my bed, but I knew she�d appreciate the effort, right?

I needed to throw on my bathing-Solei attire, which consists of my swim bottoms and a t-shirt on top. But, being lazy, I decided to just throw Jared�s swim trunks on, which were conveniently dried and resting on the side of the tub. After I slipped one leg in, I saw the LARGEST cockroach I have ever seen directly below me, where it had fallen out of the trunks and I had inadvertently stepped on a leg and it was flailing incapacitated, flailing in place. I SCREAMED, which got Solei going even more, and after a minute of that, got the bug spray and shot it. It was frantically waving its legs as it died, and it looked like Solei sounded. But it was SO nasty I couldn�t watch, and I couldn�t go near it, so I plopped the grey tub upside-down over it so I didn�t have to see it. Now onto the screaming baby�.

I went into the closet to get on some NON-ROACH swimming trunks, and decided to treat myself and wear that new swim top I�d bought but hadn�t worn yet. I don�t get my top wet during Solei baths, but it was cute enough to raise my spirits. Oh-so-temporarily.

I picked up my howling daughter and stripped her down for her bath. She was immediately cheerful, and cheerfully puked down my boobs and all over my new swim top and the floor. Woot.

So down she went again so I could get curdled milk out from between the twins and I threw on a t-shirt and the action began again.

Now we�re finally in the tub!! And it was still kind of warm!! And as I reached for the soap, I witnessed my beautiful, beautiful daughter PEE in the tub. Was I going to have to go through the mess of trying to fill it AGAIN with warm water from the shower on the other side of the bathroom????

Nope. The plug in the tub was stuck and my beautiful kid was laying in her pee-infested water that I couldn't empty. So, I put her on my lap, grabbed a cup and filled it with the lukewarm water from the tap and proceeded to attempt to wash her that way. At least there wasn�t any pee on her, even though it was all over me as I had to continue sitting in it. After I had just taken a shower myself... good thing I'm not a germ-o-phobe. And that Solei isn't either.

This was luckily where the drama ended, although there was also no food for me to eat for breakfast, except for chocolate puffs, but I�m trying to stop eating chocolate to figure out why she farts so much. So I waited until lunch to fill my gullet. Solei, however, remained cheerful. Peeing in the tub must do that to a person.

Our poor housecleaner found the roach I had conveiniently left under the tub in the bathroom. Just trying to share the excitement, yo.

I recount this not to complain (although it is a nice side-effect) � I recount this because when I mentioned this to my mom, she was laughing her head off about my insane morning, and it occured to me that it had not even occurred to me until then that the morning had been even remotely odd. The only thing I had been remotely upset about was the roach.

I tell this story on the day of my baby�s 2 month point because apparently, it only takes 2 months to forget what normal, rational life is like. I think God blessed me with memory loss:)

Happy second month-day Solei!! I adore you!!!

SUPERCRACK, mommy-style.

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel