border

in a family way

March 27, 2008 at 9:15 a.m.

I remember when he song "Ironic" came out, everyone was giggling about how the scenarios in the song weren't irony, but something else. I have since forgotten what it was because my brain has slowly been seeping out of my ears since I finished grad school. One might argue it started about the time I began grad school, but that's neither here nor there.

Anywho, I'm wondering if what I am experiencing is irony, or that other thing...

Tomorrow is my brother's senior recital in Colorado. I want so much to be there, but I couldn't fathom getting on a plane for the 3+ hour flight by myself with my toddler, and keeping her from tearing up my parent's house.

Yesterday was my grandmother's funeral. I seriously contemplated traveling to California to be there, but I couldn't even begin to fathom the 5 hour flight with the toddler again.

So what am I doing this weekend instead? Getting in a van with my in-laws and driving overnight to Texas to visit their family. 12 hours with a toddler in a car.. overnight...

I'm dreading the drive, of course. I don't mind visiting family (there's a real, bonefied JIMBO there!). I just feel like if I'd had a little more guts I'd have gone to Colorado or California to see my family.

Every one of my siblings, aunts and uncles live in Colorado or California.. no one on this side of the world. I'm feeling a little lonely.

There's also the other issue about my grandma not liking me - you know, once she got dimentia, mom promised I could go see her without worry because she wouldn't remember who I was - but one hearing of the mention of my name - she paused, and GROWLED. Yep, I made my grandmother growl.

I'm really not that much of a disappointment in the ol' resume department, but as a youth I was a loud, impudent kid who said whatever crazy thing was on her mind, and spent a good deal of time getting a piece of my grandma's mind as a result.

Blegh... and now 4 days out in the backcountry of East Texas, in a trailer, trying to keep fire ants off my wee one.

Ba...H.

&^%$^$#%@%^$^%$#^%$#&^%$^$#^%$&^%$

Don't have time to post it right now, but I went berZERK on Easter, trying to get a good picture of our family with the Easter basket and Solei's aDOOOORable dress... so of course everything went wrong.

First, I was taking videos of her playing about in the play room, and I have a great shot of my dear one standing on top of the slide in her Easter dress glory, and then the consequent tumble backwards to the floor. She bit her tongue and I had to follow her around for the next hour to keep her from spitting blood on her dress. Of course.

My sweeie was dancing around, laughing, and foaming blood at the mouth.

She is so definately half me.

SUPERCRACK!


rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel