border

food glooorious food

December 10, 2006 at 8:33 p.m.

Oooo, is the 10th already??? That means tomorrow Solei is officially 2 months old!

And she STILL can't make me lunch. Freeloader.

Jared is out on church business tonight, so for the first time I fed her, bathed her and put her to bed all by myself. She did howl at one point so LOUD that I though either hers, mine, or both of our heads would explode, but she's asleep and no explosion has occured.

Man, I am SO lucky I have a baby daddy (husband) around to help, even if it is for just a few hours in the day. Good golly, without him... well, without him there wouldn't be a baby in the first place, but as long as he married and impregnated me, I'm glad he does his fair share of being puked on:)

^&$%$#%^$#&^$&^%#&^$&^%$&^$^

So the church activity yesterday was hilARIOUS. I'll have more details tomorrow, but I have a few general thoughts I'd like to spew forth that occured to me at church today.

First, I think the 10 year old boys have crushes on me. I play violin and piano for the children's singing time (barely - they asked me to keep piano to a minimum and just accompany on violin because I suck so hard on the keys) and they stand next to me. now, I know they're easily distracted, but the stare at me and keep talking to me like I'm Giselle Bundchen or something. It could be that I'm an American and that is just sooo weird, but I'm leaning towards the crush thing. not that I WANT to, I just know what little boys having crushes looks like. I'm a teacher, remember?

Secondly, I think a lady in the ward has a crush on me too. Not like THAT, but she's slightly starstruck or something? Again, probably because I'm American, but I have this weird suspicion that it's because we are perceived as wealthy. That could be TOTALLY off, and it makes me seriously uncomfortable to even think that. But the crush alone is a little crazy. Her liiiitle daughter came up to Jared today and told her that her mommy wants me to teach her English. Hrm - I can't teach her English, I don't speak Portuguese! Everyone else at church is insanely sweet to me and I never get a weird feeling, but from this chick I do. And I know she can't read me saying this, because she doesn't speak English, woot woot!

It's just every time she looks at me, I feel like it's for approval or attention... weird, no? On the creepy idea that it's because we are perceived as well-off, I can get that people would assume that. We do have it pretty good, but people just see our house that is a decent size and think we are Rockefellas or something. Nooo, we're ex-pats, and aside from that, we save like mad. Jared wants to retire ASAP... well, that'll probably end up being 30 years down the line, but he's trying to pull the line as close as he can get.

I don't like creepy crushes on me. She also told someone to tell me in English that she's making me a Christmas present. Because she wants one in return? She's probably excited that she's making it and stuff... but it's just something strangers don't really tell other people usually.

Wacky country. It's kind of a handy thing to nao falo Portuguese. I can hide from the crazies easier.

*&^%*&^%^%$^%$#&^$*&$&^%$%^&$^%&$^%$

2 weeks until I'm in America!! And all I want to do (besides enjoy my family and stuff) is go to Target and EAT EVERYTHING AMERICAN. Jared is planning on bringing back a frozen block of sharp cheddar (he knows someone who sucessfully did it) and most everything we are planning to buy is fooood.

I'm gonna eat KFC with those yuuuummy biscuits and mashed potatoes and coleslaw - I don't even NEED the chicken! And In-N-Out Burger, and Papa John's and Taco Bell and just sour cream and cheddar.

All I miss is the food.... and the joys of Super Target. I never had the highest standards for food, and yet except for the nummy nummy Churrascurias (those BBQ places they bring the meat to you and cut you a piece of it with a sword - it's $50 a person in the states, and $5 here - my dad is gonna FLIP when he comes!) I have been met with disappointment. Dang stupid American. I'm open-minded! I swear!

**Mom, I don't need an e.mail on how you didn't raise your kid to be a picky eater, just wait until you try the pizza with squeeze cheese all over it!! You'll understand!!**

Most of the disappointment comes from the lack of food quick - not just fast food, but yeah... it's really ahrd to get anything here "on the go" and many times we really are on the go. Don't take fast food for granted America! Hey, the states even have GOOD food fast, like Atlanta Bread Factory, Quiznos and Einstein Bagels...
Dang, I gotta stop now. I'm starving!

SUPERCRACK is going to gain 46 pounds over Christmas and it's ALL WORTH IT!



rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel