border

terrorizing the next generation

January 06, 2007 at 5:03 p.m.

Oh my gosh, thank you soooo much for all the nursing advice!! And no one got all high-and-mighty, that's pretty impressive, I must say. When it comes to nursing people get all crazy-fied. I honestly still don't know what I'm going to do, but when I DO decide to stop nursing, I will be using cabbage leaves.

Oh GOLLY I want to stop. And then I'm too scared to stop, knowing that what if we don't have an income for a while? I should make the sacrifice for the family, right? I don't know, I really don't. I want someone else to decide for me. I'm so worn out, thinking literally hurts!

So, enough with the life-altering decisions. Now onto the question: Is Reva Traumatizing Her Child Again??

So I was tlaking to my mom, getting ideas about how to play with Solei. She can't do Uno or checkers yet, so I am open to suggestion, especially from my veteran mom who also has a bachelors and masters in education and music. She's got ideas, yo.

So she tells me some great ones, and Pat-a-Cake is a new staple of my song repertoire, but she also said all of us kids went cookoo for Peek-a-Boo. So I tried it, hands over my face and everything, but my genuis of a 2 month-old bebe had no doubts where my face was, and was not impressed. So I took it to the next level and put a blanket over her face and, she giggled and smiled like a maniac, I SWEAR. So I made a video of it to show my mom, who was not as impressed as I thought she should be. The e.mail I received went thusly:

Dearest Reva,
WOW....is Solei ever gorgeous. And wow....she has already developed so much since I last saw her only a week ago. I'm giddy with joy just watching her.
...ok....let me get this straight....you are playing a game with your daughter....right?....you're not trying to train her for terror management?
maybe...I'm thinking...you needed to use that blanket to play an otherwise innocent and usually harmless game because you are holding the video camera...right? ...ordinarily you would be using your loving hands over YOUR OWN face....right? =-O
gosh golly...Solei has an incredible well of courage. If I did that to you I think you would have screamed bloody murder for days.
Holy Cow. One minute there sits an absolutely BEAUTIFUL, calm, trusting baby....and the next second she is jumping in terror, grasping for air, searching for life...and at the same time she hears the familiar sound of her mummy's sweet voice.
What kind of oxymoron are you trying to create in Solei's developing mind.
I better check that handout I sent you....did it really have a paragraph on training for night terrors?
Wow...I'm bouncing between joy and shock. You got me laughing and gasping all at the same time. Wonder Mum you are.

.......

Night terrors?? I was trying to get her to giggle for my mom, and I SWEAR that's joy!! Well, y'all can check for yourselves, I'm pretty sure this might be the final strike against that mother-of-the-year award I was hoping for:)

That was joy, right?? Night terrors, my eye. I'm sure I'll get to plenty of stuff that will scar my bebe, this is nuttin'.

Poor thing!

SUPERCRACK is so good, it's scary!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel