border

job woes... namely, none!

June 14, 2002 at 3:52 p.m.

ug. On my first day of training at THAT mexican restuarant (the name makes me nauseous), there were 14 people. Our trainer was so nasty that the next day, there were 5.

Today, there were 4.

Yep, I quit. I figured it was either that or get fired when I eventually would break down and start crying on the job because the people were so Jerry Springer and mean.

Ech. I'm not stuck up - I know I'm the bottom of the heap at young little age 22, but I have a freaking college degree and I treat people with respect dang it. I just couldn't do a job - even for a month - where my "higher ups" screamed at me.

That nice navy guy I mentioned that was going to do his masters in Law at Berkley next year? He refused to sugn a sheet that said he had received some items - like a tip tray, an apron, etc... until he received them. He had experience that made him not want to be liable for something that he had not received yet. Understandable. Legal.

That witch started yelling at him and fired him on the spot. I hope he sues.

I was so shocked - I couldn't believe she'd done something so horrible and screamed at him for something she was legally in the wrong about. And the other people sitting around me thought he was the wrong one...

Later they held a great discussion about what ectasy(sp?) had done to their brains and the trainer suggested they do some weed before their shift to make it go by faster.

Oh golly. I thought I could go back today - but I couldn't. It wasn't like this when my brother worked there. I cried and cried and just didn't show up. I called, but I couldn't go in. I had such a wonderful morning in my class up in Boulder and I knew I couldn't feel that good being yelled at... I've grown by leaps and bounds in the last semester... found joy in the face of being turned agains by non-friends... and I couldn't take a step back and feel this bad. I've come too far to be sad agian. That was years ago.

But now I'm in a predicament... I still need a car with air conditioning when I'm in Arizona, and I need to get a job now to start saving towards that. Soon. But what to do?

I checked the classifieds, online, made some calls, heard nothing.

Then I checked my dose of friends websites, and discovered dear Casey had left her job, too.

In tears, I called her house, and she offered to go job hunting with me!!! Sad Reva, missing all her friends in Texas, and too busy this last week to all any of her friends in Colorado - and now unemployed - got to drive around and not brave the application process alone!!!! Yippe!!!

Don't think we had much luck, but we tried, darn it. We tried waitress stuff, a hotel, SO many applications...finally discovered the movie theatre was always hiring... so if no one calls back, that's what we fall on. Anyone know how much you make in a movie theatre?? I gotta know.

Casey listened to me cry and go hysterical, and treated me to Tokyo Joes - my favorite restaurant!!!! My face and eyes hurt from crying so much, but I feel loads better in my insides.

*!!!!!!!!bless you!!!!!!!*

I just got the job and did everything right after I got back because I wanted to show my parents how grown-up and responsible I am now.

And now I give up after 2 days and cry a bunch (but the crying is nothing new - I do that all the time:)... I feel the worst about making them disappointed in me. I know at Kaka Don'tEatIt (sounds like Casa Bonita! Thanks Case!) I would be able to make hundreds of dollars in a short period of time.. that's a lot of money to little Reva... and be oh-so-close to a car with air conditioning. That's what Dad wanted.

But it was too horrible... I couldn't stand up straight and smile because they yelled at me right as soon I came in. I don't deserve that. Meanies.

SUPERCRACK will hear back from the Marriott tommorrow.. do you think there's a possibility?? pleaseohplease...

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel