border

couches and over-emotional girls, oh my!

August 12, 2005 at 7:17 a.m.

Huh. Chchchcheck this out - Altanta was the only big city to make it onto the
Best US Cities to Live In. Well, ain't we the smrt ones, eh? Well, it's not like I was looking for that when I moved here, or even when Jared foisted the buying-a-house idear on me, but look who's lookin' sharp now.

Heh. I like taking credit for something I have ABsoLUTEY no power over.

Speaking of the house (which I do way too much of lately) - we had the place measured for carept - a nice light one and yes, it kind of matches our extremely white walls. So now we have to decide what the HECK to do about decorating this place.

See, we are living like CRAZY people now. All our stuff is jammed into one room downstairs because there is no place to unpack it, and everywhere else is covered with the cabinent doors we're redoing, power tools, ladders and the like. And dried paint - it's seeeeeeriously a disaster area. But once we get carpet in the major spaces on 2 floors, we'll be able to move in and start living like 2 semi-normal people. And that means buying furniture, because we have none. And it HAS to look semi decent soon, because Urmi is coming to wisit in September with her fabooolous hubby and I want it to not scare the poor couple! (we at least need ONE working bathroom:)

I was just thinking yesterday how much I miss snuggling on the fouton and watching TV - because we haven't been able to in forever, what with the fouton being 2 floors below the TV.

So this is Jared's idea for 2 couches for the living room:

With a bright area rug with them. What do you think? We're going with all white everywhere and we want bright couches to liven it up and um YES these are bright:) They also come in blue and red and other colors, but he seems to like this combo - we'll see. I'm actually warming to it. They ARE Ikea, after all:) And you can buy different colored covers so if we change our minds down the way, we can change our couch colors too!

I know. Sounds simple enough - but remember, I decorated only DORM rooms before this. The fact that the idea of owning 2 entire couches means that yes, I am a full-fledged adult, mmhrm.

And did I mention that Jared wants to turn one wall of the living room into a movie screen and buy a projector and watch TV realllly big? So okay, maybe not THAT grown up:)

&^$*&^$^%$&^%#&^%#*^%#^%#*%#*#*^%$*$*^%#*^%$*&$*&$

So a few months ago, I had one of those emotional whatevers where Jared and I went to a church party and I freaked out because I'm just not used to hanging out with other married people yet. And when I tried to sit down next to some cool married people, their little kids ended up sitting there instead, throwing food everywhere. So I hid in a room and cried, tada. Well, that and I'd made the WORST blueberry cobbler of all time, but nevertheless, I was less than stable for some reason and was a big boob. Hey, I'm a girl, sometimes the tears just show up!

Jared was insanely sweet as usual and sat with me in the parking lot until I felt ready to back come in, but I was still feeling not as confident as I should, so when we went in, we sat off to the edge near the door and he held my hand really tight and kept me feeling okay. A few tears eeked out now and then, but I did okay, I survived at least. Yeah, I know, I'm a total pansy.

Anywho, someone came along and took a picture for the ward picture book. I managed a smile but thought "Oh golly, like I want THIS to be documented!!" And it was. I just found it on the ward website:

Now THAT'S the real me. Good gravy, I shouldn't be let out in public!

^%*&^%*&$*^#&^#%$@%&$@&#^$*&$^%#^&#&^%#&^$&^%$&^

Wow this is getting long - so I'll finish this with 2 thoughts - well 3 -
First, I went to the high school yesterday to rehearse a quartet and it was okay! The kids all attacked me nad everything was pleasant. I'm so glad I quit, but it's nice to know I'm missed:)

Second, there are tons of spiders outside our house - like, gigantor - one we killed yesterday was I swear as big as my hand!!! And there aren't any in the house (as we totally bug bombed it), but it still freaks me out and I wonder if we should kill all the outside spiders? Yeah, blah blah I know they kill other bugs, but what if they try to come inside? Will they? I have scars all over my torso that say they do indeed bite and can lead to nasty 3rd degree burns so I'm a little paranoid.

And Third - I have this student who started playing this summer because she wants to play in her school orchestra, and her dad is being verrrry helpful-ish... yesterday she forgot her instrument at school so he had to borrow one from the shop upstairs for her lesson, which I thought was a smart thing to do - but he was perturbed about it and after the lesson asked me if I could bring a cane to lessons to whap her with when she forgets things.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I think he was kidding. She seemed to think so. I think maybe I'd be an okay parent because I know at least not to ask other people to whap my kid with canes.

See! I know SOMEthing good about my parenting skillz!

(oh, and for the record, per my last entry - when Jared had me go to therapy for my eating disorder, he also went with me and found out all he could do to help me. And if I did go to a family counselor to work through my parent-phobias, he'd be right there beside me. So that's nice:)

SUPERCRACK has LEFT the building!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel