border

week um (that's one in Portuguese)

September 01, 2006 at 11:19 a.m.

At breakfast this morning, Jared smiled at me and said "You made it."

Huh? Made what?

"A whole week in Brazil."

Wha... wait, we just flew in on Friday morning ... a week ago! It's amazing how time flies when you're sitting around doing a whole lotta nuthin. Not that I'm complaining - I'm enjoying the break. Resting, getting used to being in Brazil is what I need. Heck, I'm days away from being 9 months pregnant! I can take all the laying about I can get!

Speaking of the absolutley terrifying possibility of being 9 months preggo, I don't look that ginormous, methinks... (as referenced by the pics taken at the airport). I can't get too much bigger, can I? (I know, probably famous last words... I'm just hoping....

I really should be seeing a doctor, but I haven't seen one in a month. I have been seeing doctors regularly though since I found out I was pregnant. I've been having a healthy, textbook pregnancy, I guess another week or two until I can get to the doctor.

Eeeep. !

Onto other things that don't terrify me....

I have been getting out of the hotel a little bit. The other day, Jared needed me to get my picture taken for some official documents. He found a photo shop about a mile from the hotel and e.mailed me a map he made in Paint. He told me what to say in Portuguese and I wrote it down and practiced it all the way to the shop, but when I got there, I was so flustered, I just showed him the paper. I was however, able to use my tiiiny bits of Portuguese to make pathetic small talk. Small I know, but this is kinda huge for me. It's scary to not be able to communicate with anyone. Jared was so proud of me, he took me out to McDonalds for dinner. He did make me order the ice cream by myself though - in Portuguese - which I did kind okay. I really have no grasp of the language, but I'm trying.

Now, McDonalds, you say? Why would I insist to be taken there as a treat? Ahhhhh, read on.

My mom raised me to eat whatever was on my plate. And there were many times that her "food" inventions would make you gag, but we ate them. We served up a little less than a full portion sometimes, but we ate it up.

Jared, on the other hand, is a picky eater. Heck, I don't even know if he has taste buds, he eats such bland stuff. He could live on nothing but bread. A lot of times, he actually does!

But the tables have turned... Brazil has turned me into a picky eater. I can't get a meal I can eat until I'm full, because it honestly grosses me out so much. I need to find some good food - I'm not saying all Brazilian food is bad, I just haven't had any good stuff yet. And McDonalds made me feel soooo much better. At least I had a full tummy. I'm so dang hungry all the time, but it's because I gag at what I'm eating.

Jared took me out to the grocery store last night and found something I would find appetizing - this tomato pate thing with some pita bread things. I honestly thought I WOULD like it, but it tasted something like a pate made of pepperoni.. I gagged on it, and and have been trying to keep down the california rolls he also picked up for me. He worries so much about my eating with this pregnancy thing, but I can honestly say that I'm not abstaining from food for any control or emotional reasons - I'm just grossed out!

It'll be better when I have my own kitchen and can cook my own meals. I tell myself this, but I don't know if I'll be able to understand any of the ingredients at the store - and also, let's not forget that I can't cook.

We're going to a party tonight. There's a couple living about an hour away that Jared connected with who are from the states, just a tad younger than us and have 2 kids, one just showed up about a month ago! They've been here for 2 years, so I'm really looking forward to meeting them and asking them a mazillion questions. And getting out and talking to people... dagnabit that sounds gooood!

I'll take my camera out and about this weekend and get some shots of my new home, I promise. For now, I'll just put some shots I found on the intraweb and post them on my photo/family/trip bog. I'll get on that as soon as I post this in 3....2.....1.....

SUPERCRACK says obgrigata.


rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel