border

excited planning

November 21, 2002 at 9:08 a.m.

ooooo guess what little tidbit I got in the mail yesterday?? My audition music for Cirque du Soleil!!! And you know what?

this is soooo mine.

The music is so perfect for me! I can totally do this! If I want this gig bad enough, I now I could get it. I'm a darn good violinist and I'm over-qualified in the diversity of syles department.

Ever go looking for reasons? Why things happened the way they do? THere's a reason and a purpose for everything. Lets trot down there, shall we?

If my little brother Dallin hadn't auditioned at ASU 2 years ago, I wouldn't have tried it for my masters and I wouldn't be here and because I AM here I sat in orchestra and found out about the Cirque auditions!

If our violists in our old jazz strings group back at North Texas weren't flaky drug users I wouldn't have had the need to go out and buy baritone violin strings and because I have them (and they make your violin sound like a cello) I went for the audition that said you should be able to play both cello and violin, even though I can't play cello!

If I had gotten into the Mancini institute a year and a half ago, I wouldn't have gone to the Mark O'Connor fiddle camp for the first time and I wouldn't have learned so many new styles and repertoire - 2 of which I put on my demo for the audition ... AND I wouldn't have talked to Darol Anger and found out about the abritone strings!

And if I hadn't come to ASU, I wouldn't be getting stronger and more consistent every day mostly because I have the most supportive, knowledgable, and tough violin teacher I've ever known.

It's winwin... if I don't get this gig, I still get to keep living this wonderful dream of getting a masters. ANd if I do... well... I'll get to visit all my friends all over North America and meet some new ones in Europe!

it's just feeling good to be me right now....

$#!%#@%$#^$^*%$#&^$#%#@!%$#^%#*^%@#%$@%$#%^#$&%#

So last night I forgot to tell anyone, but my jazz combo played a concert. An hour, just us. Headlining, opening, closing. yup, US. I play in a fusion combo with the most incredible sax player I've ever known, my favorite bassist in the world (besides Victor Wooten of course:), the sweetest guitarist ever and one of the funniest drummers I know. Besides Sean Redman... SEXIEST MAN EVER!!!!!

*cough cough*.... a-HEM.

Anywho, we played a really diverse line up and surprisingly, the place was packed. I don't know who the people were but it was so much fun - the bass player dances while he plays and we were all laughing and running around up there. I mean we're good and all, but that doesn't mean you can't have a freaking BLAST!!

For years I only played with string players. I miss it - the repertoire was fabulous. The attitudes weren't... neither was trying to find string players (alas... violas....) that weren't flakes. It nearly gave out director a heart attack every week.

I'll go back to playing with strings again someday, but not here. Everyone's too square. And playing with string players... well.. our abilities weren't up to par with full time jazz musicians. The guys in my combo know so much and have so many ideas we can jam for hours. I just play along having my mind blown by their abilities of the GROOOOOOOOVE.

It helps being the only girl too... some guys have this built in gentleman instinct that against their very natures, they'll carry your amp over a mile after a long concert.

God bless boys, huh?:)

I honestly don't ahve much in my mind besides WHOOPEE!!! I'M GOONA AUDITION FOR CIRQUE DU SOLEIL!!!!

SUPERCRACK is slightly hyped up, people....

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel