border

the Moment

October 31, 2003 at 8:07 a.m.

Last night was the greatest night of my musical life.

Did you feel a shift in the tectonic (sp?) plates? Because I swear my world was changed last night.

I got to play that cool piece I was telling you about. With the Jimi Hendrix-style opening and then 4 and a half more papes of nothing but 16th notes at a 140 tempo marking - to those of you who aren't musically literate, that's freaking fast.

And REALLY hard on the body of a girl with as many arm problems as I - so when I got to the dress rehearsal today, I thought I'd take it down a notch. But he wouldn't let me. He made me play so hard, I collapsed halfway on a nearby chair when it was over - I couldn't speak or lift my arms.

I didn't know how I'd make it through the concert... or even survive until then I hurt so much. Luckily, my deardear friend Chanchal came with me and sprung into action. He helped me to my car and helped me go get a big bad of ice, and then tied bags of ice to my arms to let the swelling go down. He even poured some water down my throat so I could swallow some Advil.

Here's me mid-eating a pretzel with the ice doing it's thang.... Chanchal was cool and took some digital pics -

I just took it easy and prayed that I'd be able to get through it when the time came.

I got up there... I just can't explain the rest. People were screaming for me even before I got through the first half of the first page ... and then all the fast notes.

Somehow, I didn't really realize what was going on. I was aware of the incredible composer at my side, jamming out on some improvised ornaments he was adding to his amazing piece, and I played louder and bigger than I thought I could. My legs were spasming so much I had to keep lifting one then the other to keep from collapsing. It was like my body wanted to give into how nervous I was, but I couldn't let it. I just kept playing.... people were yelling... it was unreal.

Thanks Chan for the pics, and thanx to Dave for the photoshop fun:)

So I get done, and before I even play the last note, people are standing up, applauding and screaming. I was so shocked to get through it... shocked that I was still there.. shocked that anyone was there. I think I bowed a few times.. I stumbled off stage to my friends, and people kept screaming... then they came down the aisles to hug me and tell me they loved it... one woman was even crying. I couldn't believe it, but I really was bigger than all my pain for a moment - I was violinist, a musician.

I played tonight.

I'm so grateful for the composer - the entire concert was filled with incredible performances and incredible music. He's the most amazing musician I think I've ever encountered - check him out!!!

Chanchal was such a dear... I really had a friend again with me, helping me deal with the pain and enjoy the experience with me. And of course, he's leaving for India soon .. Just my luck:)

Anywho, right now I think I'm back on planet earth. But if I never have another concert - another success, deep down I'll know I got my share of the moment. For a moment, I was bigger than my body. I'm just going to hold onto that and cuddle it for a while. I need a good snuggle:)

SUPERCRACK is just going to float up here for while... thanks:)

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel