border

couches and hair

August 26, 2005 at 7:38 a.m.

Okay, so one my my fears about having kids is that (I'm not making this up) I will want to grab their heads when they're freaking out and yell "LET'S THINK ABOUT THIS LOGICALLY!!" And maybe shake them or something.

Seriously, when I was a HS teacher and I had kids doing the dumbest stuff - I even had a kid with a mp3 earphone IN HER EAR and try to tell me it wasn't there - I could have beaten her up. Why they so freaking irrational and dishonest - it made me furious. I know their brains aren't wired properly yet, but still.

Now, granted, I had nothing to do wtih the raising of these kids, but still. I figured that's what would happen.

But Wednesday I had a 4 year old student freak out - and I mean FREAK - the tears, the screaming, everything. She wanted her mom in her lesson but she just acts too hyper and crazy to let that happen - when we're one on one, I can focus her and teach her, but she's not ready to have her mom in the lesson, end of discussion.

And man, was she crying. Like I'd killed her and all her dreams and hopes and America. But I didn't get mad, I didn't even console her - I just smiled and played a song and then asked her if she would play with me and she was so surprised that I didn't say anything about her massive fit, she joined in and we had a good lesson.

I was SHOCKED at myself. I did it - didn't go crazy or anything! So I realized I CAN maybe do this parenting thing - I'm good at manipulating children! Except it made me not like them very much and I'm still pretty set in that opinion, but still. Mad props to me, yo:)

*&$&^$&^%#%$@##@%@%$#&^$@&^#&^%#&^@^*%#*^&$*^&%

WE GOT THE IKEA COUCHES!! Woohoo!! Only thing is, now we don't know what to do with them in the living room. We both agreed a minimalist approach would be nice, but now I'm not so sure.

I took a picture and sent it to my sis-in-law and she said we should paint the room - ahh, except I just painted it white nad it it looks a whole lot better that the color did - it doesn't get a lot of light, and the white opened it up. Herr's the pic I sent her:

and it just looked too stark for me. I couldn't figure out why... until last night I decided to move the couches a bit to make it a little more snuggly, and this is what I got:

Simple, yet it looks a lttle better... I'm thinking white plasic end tables from Ikea and we need a tv stand (yes, it is presently on a piano mover).

Oh., and Candis and Mum Threlkeld? That's your wedding present on my couch - my snuggly blanket! We use it always when we are snuggling on the couch, merci much:)

And the red dot on the right is the Roomba. How I looove the Roomba:)

It needs curtains too, like other rooms in the house, but I don't know what to do.. I need to make sure they aren't the frilly kind, those totally drive me insane... but we don't have ANY on our bedroom windows and that could create problems. They aren't really visible from the street, but I still had a slight weird-out last night when I looked up from the bed and saw a tree move... did it see anything?? Do the trees know what we've been up to???

Like that could stop us, but still:)

Ooo, and yesterday on a totally unrelated but related topic, I had lunch with two girlfriends who have been pregnant (miscarried) or is presently pregnant, and BOTH were on birth control when it happened. I freaked out, but I was like, well, it's okay - if it happens it is supposed to, and I've been safe for 7 months now so if I do have a surprise, I guess I'll be okay.

BUT THEN they went into how childbirth is the most painful, worst experience EVER and heck people, I don't even have my EARS PIERCED I'm afraid it'll hurt so bad, and I did NOT need to know the details I heard yesterday.

So now, I'm back to being freaked out and wanting to use 17 forms of birth control. Heehee, from couches to this? I am SO the queen of random:)

*&^%^&%$&^#^%$*&^$&%#$*&^%*&$*&$*&$*&%$

So we were discussing our hair - sis-in-law and I, since our hair is about the same length, and were wondering what the heck we should do to style it. I sent her this pic I took recently of hy hair to show her how long it is now:

and she said "Wow! You look 16!" I don't know if it was a compliment or not... I'll take it though, regardless. About a year ago it was abotu this length (that's my gal Danielle with me when she visited me in the ATL - that's us in front of the temple)

and now, long. And freaking out because in less than 2 months, I'll be 26 and I am NOT DEALING WELL WITH IT for a few reasons, but also because I'm terrified of looking old. Yet I will. And I'm not all that hott to begin with yet Jared still loves me, but still, if I looked like my Grandma would he still get that freaky look in his eye that I do deeply dig? I dunno!

He was right though about me and having long hair - I do look a little better with it. I found one of the old pics from when I was dating Loren and this was my hair:

Geez, do I look like his MOM? And that was only when I was 23. I am now 25. I might be devolution-ing-y.

At some point I need to make an appointment with our friend Geoff who is a great stylist and gives one fantastic shampoo and tell him what to do. I could go somewhere cheaper, had I an idea of what I want, but I don't, so it's up to him. Whenever I get off my lazy butt and make an appontment:)

SUPERCRACK is a-ready for a snip snip!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel