border

San Diego

2001-08-07 at 8:20 a.m.

Helllooooo San Diego! I'm at Point Loma Nazarene University for the Mark O'Connor Fiddle Conference.

So far I've had lessons on Afro-Cuban violin, Jazz, Clasical and Rock... and one fiddle class... my kind of joint:)

Got here on Saturday, had my Uncle Hugh's place to myself because they were being terrorized by bears almost all night and then saw them the next morning. We went to church and had dinner and gabbed and had a marvelous time and -

what was that?

You don't believe me??

Of course we had dinner!

Oh, you mean the BEARS! Oh yea, they were camping and had bears climb on their table while they were cooking dinner and circled their tent all night. And the Ranger said they were harmless... must've been a crazy person, that's what it is.

And now I'm here at a fiddle conference just breathing in the life of the coast - the U is on a cliff overlooking the Pacific - the outfield of the baseball park is the ocean.. smart planning, huh?

I'm glad I'm here.

Who'd've hunk I'd say that? This place - this music - this is goood for me. I'm still down about you-know-what but I think there's a reason I'm here. I'm good - I can do this. Not country fiddle - that stuff is waaayyy tough, but I can not freak. unn... cross your toes for that one, okay?

(*(*((*((((******

So..... picture this....

I'm sitting in a hotel room with Darol Anger - one of the greatest jazz violinists in the world chatting about gigs and stuff. He's eating my Milano cookies.

*and I say to myself.. what a wonderful woooorrrlld......*

^%^%^%^%^&&&&&%$$$$$##################@

get this - I call my parents last night, and talk about the incredible day I had. I mention in 2 seconds about how I'm goona buy a bed fror the new apartment when I get to Texas, and that my back hurts. Then on to the fun stuff again.

I get a call 7 minutes later - they've found me a bed I can take from home, and know 2 handymen who can weld and fix one of its corners and boards, and I have an appointment with a physical therapist next week.

I am just too loved.

SUPERCRACK is just overly stimulated. TOO MUCH GOOD MUSAK!!!!!!!!!!!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel