border

random blah

April 27, 2005 at 11:15 a.m.

Why have I not written more lately? Because I'm friggin' busy. Why am I busy? because the school year has 4 weeks left and there's oh so much to do.

ONLY 4 MORE WEEEEEKKKSSS!!!! SUMMEERRRRR!!!!!!! SLEEPING IN UNTIL AT LEAST 6 AM!!!!!!!!!!!

*pant pant* Good times, good times.

Lots of gigs lately. I love playing with Micheal (killer guitarist from the BorderCollies) and I'm lucky enough to do it/ I'm feeling good about some of my playing. I worked so hard dagnabit to be a good violinist and I feel like I can finally get a sound that is really me. Oh, I'm not technically fabulous or anything like that, but I have a beautiful sound and it says me so that feels good.

I sang with a band last week that I had a show with. I actually sounded pretty good. overall, I can be pretty finicky about my voice, but I wish it was better and I do love to sing. Jared said he liked it so I consider that high praise. Or he was trying to get me to stop asking him what I thought. Either one:)

I'm starting to weird out about growing up. So many things I've noticed... I'll share them all later once I have a better idea of what I'm thinking. more later...

(if you can't tell, I'm desperately grasping at things in my brain right now to share because I'm so dull and boring - there's something funny though in a bit - just wait for it)

Still in shock that I'm married and will be married next year and the year after that and the year after that. WOW.

Jared really, really makes me laugh. that is so awesome!

I hate one of my students. HATE her. I've never had this emotion before. I usually try to see the good in someone even though I would rather not associate with them or I'll grin and bear it because life is to short to spend on useless emotions like that. Well, unhealthy anyway. but one of my students - WOW. Angers me so much, I hold my tounge but I would love to just tell her what a useless human being she is, what a waste of space she is and throw her out of my classroom. If she hated orchestra and me SO MUCH, I wish she woulda dropped it when I let her, instead of staying in class, being a total moron, yelling at me every time I try to instruct her. Everyone in class hates her and she annoys them. Her parents tried to tell us we were racist, but honestly I dn't care about the color of her skin. I'm fair to all my kids, no matter what they look like. I just think she sucks on the INSIDE.

There are other things I'd like to do to her, but I am a nice person. Far above her being a total hose-beast.

Okay, feeling slightly better... 4 WEEKS!!!

ANYWHO, to reduce my mother caling me, freaking out about what a crappy entry this is, I have a story for y'all from the Columbus Ledger thingy.

A battle outside the box


The idea's so outside the box it's hard to believe anyone thought of it.

But thinking "outside the box" is what the local civic club "Outside The Box" does, and that's what members did when they thought about this weekend's re-enactments of the 1865 Battle of Columbus at the Port Columbus National Civil War Naval Museum, online at www.portcolumbus.org.

"We thought about how meticulous those Civil War re-enactors are about having historically accurate uniforms and equipment," says OTB President Hugh Lessjo. "Then we thought, 'Who else is so obsessive about having the right props and costumes?' "

The answer: Star Trek fans.

"We have Star Trek fan clubs in our area, and Sunday's battle re-enactment already includes a 'what-if' scenario featuring a Confederate counterattack," says Lessjo. "So we started thinking outside the box, and we thought, 'Why not have Trekkies join the battle?' They already have the equipment."

OTBs, or "Outside The Boxers," as they call themselves, are unconventional thinkers who believe "there are no stupid ideas," Lessjo says. "We really just wanted to know what would happen if Civil War soldiers fought the crew from 'Star Trek.' You never see that in the movies or TV reruns."

So the OTBs asked battle organizers: Why not attract a wider audience by staging a second "what-if" battle sequence in which a starship crew joins the conflict?

Unwilling to openly ridicule the idea, organizers set up a meeting for Lessjo, Confederate re-enactors and a local Star Trek club -- the latter two in full regalia.

Then the trouble began.

First the Confederates said they wouldn't associate with "Trekkies," and the Star Trek fans said they preferred "Trekkers." The Confederates all laughed, and "that right there got things off on the wrong foot," Lessjo says.

Other missteps followed.

"One of the Trekkers said Starfleet's prime directive wouldn't let the crew introduce superior technology to a primitive culture," Lessjo says. "Then a rebel yelled, 'Don't call us primitive, geek!' And the Trekker said Starfleet wouldn't defend a society based on slavery, either."

That riled the Confederates, provoking one to shout: "Y'all just go fight for the Yankees then! You're all living in a fantasy world anyway!"

"Yeah, like you're not!" a Trekker retorted.

Both sides abruptly drew their weapons, and Lessjo ducked under a table as the firing commenced, he says. He did not crawl back out until the smoke cleared, and by then the Trekkers had withdrawn from the field.

"It turns out replica Civil War guns use real gunpowder, whereas 'Star Trek' phasers have only a battery-powered bulb that lights up," says Lessjo. "You don't go up against a guy with a firearm if all you've got is a flashlight."

So thinking outside the box yielded an unexpected answer to OTB's hypothetical question: "We proved Civil War soldiers would win a battle against the crew from 'Star Trek,' " Lessjo says, chuckling. "You never would have figured that, would you?"

heh. SUPERCRACK out.

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel