border

nix on the pomp and circumstance

July 29, 2002 at 11:38 p.m.

ahhhh, for reasons none other than that I am a curious lemming, I followed eden's lead and took this freaking survey. I hate surveys. I don't like people who do 6 million of 'em and try to define themselves by it (and also take the test as many times as it takes to get the desired score:)

buuuuuuuutt - this was too tempting so I did it. This won't become a habit, I promise.



Now that's a positive survey:) Annie, Urmi, I FULLY expect especially you two to go take it. GIRL POWER!!!!!!

$!#$@#$%#%$#&%$#^%$#$%#@%^#^$^%$^%$#%$#!@^%$#%$#%$@

Positive, good day today. I called all over the ASU campus finding out what I need to schedule myself for.

You know, they have a steel drum band....??? and they need double tenor players????? YIPPE!! I called the teacher and told him I wasn't very good but I had lots of enthusiasm and I had my own mallets. (If I can remember where I put 'em:) I'm in steel drum again! Woohoo!!

And the nice jazz people said I could be in a combo. I just have to audition, and since I have fiddle camp just before school, I'll be good to go. They wanted to know if I wanted to start a jazz strings group like I did in Texas, but I dunno. I'd like to play with some legit players and learn from them before I go back to teaching beginning improv to string players. I was lucky and had a few good ones to play with, but for the most part, string players are tragically white.

Masters students don't have a massive amount to take class wise. Of course I'm sure I'll be freaked and stressed out of my mind when I get there, but for the setting up my day thing, I feel good so far. Heck, if I have time for steel drum band, there's very little to complain about.

Arimazona, watch out!!!!!

#!$#@%#^%$^%$$#%#@%$#^%$^%$&^#%$@%$#^%$^&%#%$&^$^%$&^#%^&$

le sigh.... my graduation/commencement stuff came in the mail today. I won't be there.

I'll be landing in San Diego on the day of UNT graduation. My graduation ceremony was my recital, really. It seems my life goes on with me holding on and being dragged behind sometimes.

There's a hand-written card in the packet that has my name on it for me to hand to the announcer to read at the ceremony - it says "ME - Cum Laude."

I'd like to hear that said really loudly over a PA system. But I guess I'll have to wait 2 more years until I get my masters. Maybe I'm making a mistake by not going to the ceremony, but I am in Colorado and it's in Texas and the next day I have to be in San Diego and the next week I have to be in Arizona...

I wouldn't have my life be any other way - I love it, but ... sometimes it's just too fast for even me.

The packet has an "invitation" to a reception with the president of the university, honoring the graduates. It reminded me of MattKey's graduation that I just attended, where everyone knew everyone because it was a small school, and it was a real celebration.

Don't get me wrong, my recital was incredible and all a girl could ask for, but ... well, I just wish I could wear a silly hat and walk across a stage and KNOW that the 5 years of tears and giggles and lessons were over - and sucessfully.

oh, what a girl I am. There's just no pleasing me:)

$!$#@%$#^%$*$&^%$^%$#%^$@%$#^%$&^%#^%@$#^%$&^%#%$^%$

Remember that inflatable 8 foot anaconda I bought when I broke up with Loren as per my usual "break-up impulse item?" Well, it took me all night but I blew it all up and it's actually 10 feet long! It is so freaking cool. Don't know what I'll do with it, but when a 10-foot Andy the Anaconda says to buy him for $7.99 you don't dilly-dally, no sir.

Do you have any idea how long it takes to deflate those things???? Ech, who cares. Seeing my mother's face was treat enough:)

!#$@%%$#^%$*%$&^%#&^@$^%$*&%&^%*&$^%#^&$^&%$*&%*&%#^%

Urmi and I were on the phone for about 3 hours yesterday. Can you believe it? Craziness, that's what it is.

She's already started her masters and it's mega hard. She's in gross anatomy right now and I am just thanking my lucky stars that He made me a violinist and not some brain who has to cut up dead bodies. I'd muuch rather brave a MEGA dull baroque concert (are they any other way??) than get that intimately aquainted with the way the body functions. I'm going to leave my skin ON, thankee muchly.

Dagnabit I miss her. I found a letter today that she's left on my car, dated October 30th 2001. We'd just met a little bit before, but we were already thick as thieves.

Love at first sight does happen, folks. It doesn't have to be that mushy "Prince Charming" thing - it can also be a mommy looking at her child for the first time and KNOWING her heart will burst at how much she loves them, or it can be two old souls meeting for the first time and connecting seamlessly.

Dang I love my life. Because of people in my life like you, babe. Go conquer that cadaver!! *giggles*

* * * * * * * *

whoa - all of the sudden I just felt like Doogie Howser - remember how he typed his diary entries on the computer at the end of an episode? weird....

$!$@%#^%$&%$&%$#^#^%$&%*&$^*%#&$&^%&*^*$%#&^%&^%

Mom and Dad have been married 30 years today. They've never celebrated their anniverary, that I can remember anyways. Their relationship is so weird, I don't think I'll ever have a normal relationship. I'm going to go psycho, just like my marvelous mother.

SUPERCRACK says that's okay - because she doesn't seeeed a man:)

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel