border

nice letter lady

August 01, 2002 at 11:14 a.m.

Oh man, the nightmares are really getting to me.

Last night it was some escaped convict making passes at me and I couldn't get away. My parents were nearby but not too nearby... oh help, I'm going nuts. I'm scared of Arimazona, I admit it!

This is a huge step. I miss the comfort of Texas. Even the first time I went there, I had family friends already there who could halp me when things were hard. In Arimazona, I just know eden! Help me, I'm going nuts!!!!

But check this out - my violin teacher for 5 years in Texas barely remembered my name. It was a good thing, because I was busy living and learning about life lessons, a bit more than working on my violin performance major, so it worked out perfectly.

Now, I need a good teacher. Lewis had some moments of greatness, but I need a change... well.... check out the snippets I've put here a recent e.amil from my violin teacher in Arimazona -

"Hi Reva!

It was so good to hear from you, I can't believe school starts in 3 weeks!...(insert boring music school things here)...

I hope that answers all your questions! I will be in Arizona off and on until

the school year starts, but do stop by when you arrive and leave me a note

with your phone number if I'm not in, ok?

I'm really looking forward to working together next year!!!

Have a safe trip and I'll see you SOON!"

O MY GOLLY!!!!!!! Did you know teachers could be like that? I'm worth being excited about???

Part of the reason why I got into ASU was because this amazing teacher took the time to give me a lesson the night before my audition. She had just gotten off a plane that night from a week-loong orchestra tour, but before she went home, she gave me a lesson.

I played alright, but the way she approached the violin - my body just took to it immediately and I was instantly a bit better. I walked back to my hotel in tears because she was just SO GOOD - I was amazed that that talent to teach existed.

The next day at my audition I used what she had given me and I played better than before.

Buuuuuuutttttt...... then my brain started attacking me and I was thinking "I'm a terrible violinist! The pieces I'm playing aren't hard enough! I don't deserve to go somewhere this nice - why am I even trying for a masters - oh man!"

It's a tempermental artist thing, that's what it is.

So I actually started tearing up while I played. I managed to get out of the audition room before the dam broke, but the instant I was out, I let it go. I was glad at least that the teachers hadn't seen me really start bawling right there.

BUUUUUUTTTTTT as I sat next to the door, putting my violin in the case, my new teacher popped her head out of the door and gave me a big thinbs up. "Great job!" she said.

Ug. She'd seen the tears all down my face. No way would I get in now....

But I did. I got a full tution scholarship. And why? Because of that lesson she'd given me. She saw how much I improved so quickly, and that showed I was a good student. I'll grow, grow nice and fabulous these next 2 years I think.

I'm so glad I found a nice lady in Arimazona:)

#@!$%#@%#^$&*&^%^&%#^%@%^$#^%$&*%$*&$^$#^%$@%$#^%

What do a 10 foot long inflatable anaconda, a hot tub, a PDQ Bach opera and 2 buffet line workers have in common?

My life. Dang it's cool:) And so is Casey:)

!#$#@%#%$#^%$*%^$*&$%*&%*&$^%#^#^%$^%#$@#&^$^%$&^$^$%

Ummmmmmmmmm I think I'm out of things to say. Oh yeah, I got new contacts yesterday!

It's weird, I've been wearing glasses for a month now and it's odd to look at my face again. I missed it - it's kind of attractive:)

But I'm not so crazy about not wearing my glasses anymore. They looked kind of cute on me. I may still go in public with 'em on!

But I don't want to be too attractive. NO MEN for 4 years now, mark my words, m'kay? I'm booked solid:)

SUPERCRACK ... jeepers! creepers! check out those peepers!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel