border

jury, spider, ouch

December 05, 2001 at 1:54 a.m.

So... so much to tell.

First, the jury went off well. Michelle was an angel and hovered over me for an hour before I played, keeping me company and calm. Golly darn it, I woke up with an achy body and sore throat. PER-fect for jury day.

And then I played - okay. not spectacular all the time, but pretty dang well. Not always in tune, but when I get nervous it doesn't always click, you know? I don't sweat that.

Now follw me on this - this is where it gets annoying. The piece I played was the Debussy Sonata - tres French. All the notations in the piece are French and to play the piece correctly, you gotta do some translating.

As soon as I walked in, on of the profs - Borodin calls out "What does 'Tres ^@$#%' mean?" in a thick Russian accent.

To me, it sounded like Tres Semme, so I told him it was the shampoo I used when I was in high school. I never could figure out what he was trying to say, so i just played my jury. Apparently, he'd said "tres anime" which I know means "very animated, moving." And I would have told him too, had I understood his accent.

All my jury sheets were so nice - lots of nice feedback from the teachers, telling my intonation was a little off, but the sound was big and they could tell I enjoyed playing this style of music - Impressionist.

Except for Bushkova - another Russian. She wrote that since I didn't know what "tres anime" meant (which I did!) it meant that I didn't care about the piece and was a stupid head - and I quote:

"...And no matter how cute/smart you try to be about it - it is a major negligence on your part."

I want to poke her. I said bad words all the way to the car. But then Michelle fed me chutney - amazing stuff - and I felt moocho better.

(^&&^$@$^#%&^$&*^*^&*^*&

The roomate was gone for days due to illness and gigs. Tonight we were catching up - I was laying on the couch and she was at the table - when a MASSIVE spider crawled onto one of the cushions of the couch.

I, being the manic arachnophobe that I am, jumped up and began screaming loudly, and the roomate, who had no idea what was wrong, jumped on her chair and did the same thing.

Two hysterical girls and a spider. Not a good combination.

The neighbor guys weren't there - I always get them to open my hard to open boxes and bottles and things. So I called a violinist - Jared - who lives in the same complex and begged him to get over there RIGHT NOW. Threatened him, really.

He took the cushion outside and freed the vermin the the bush next to our arartment. IT'S STILL OUT THERE.

Neither one of us can sit on the couch yet.

And you know what? That was really freaking funny.

%%&*&^&*(*)(*&^#%^%*&&^

Remember your biggest heartbreak ever? I don't know if I remember anymore. I stuffed it down and have spent so much time trying to move on that it's hiding, somewhere.

My friend Urmi is one of the strongest girls in this world. I like having strong friends to pick me up off the floor. And I love friends who allow me to try and help do the same for them.

Isn't this world an amazing place?? All these people in it, just trying to deal with our happy and ouchie and then we complicate things by trying to kill each other.

What the heck is with that?

SUPERCRACK is feeling weird about Friday night....

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel