border

pics of Mississippi

September 13, 2005 at 9:02 a.m.

So at last check, Jared weighed only 3 pounds more than me. Of course this was a while ago because we don't have a scale in the house, given my obsessive nature with my weight, but it's been grating on me.

I want to be the thinnest person in this house. Which he claims I still am, given I weigh less than him and am a girl (extra weights here and there) - but the number freaked me out. Of course, I don't know what to DO about this becuase I'm not the sharpest crayon in the box, so he mentions yesterday I just need to fatten him up.

Yes, this did not occur to me.

Of course, i ahve no idea HOW to fatten him up becuase if I fatten him up, won't that mean I'll also fatten myself up, and I also have no idea how to cook fatty foods. My parents were healthy. I'm healthy.

I am altogether too weird for this line of logic.

And isn't it a dream that I can sit here, complaining about such simple things? I have a very, very good life.

&^%#$&^$@&^$#^*%#*&^%$*&^$*^%#^*$*^

So this weekend, Jared headed east to Mississippi and Alabama, helping the hurricane victims. Our church will be sending people from all over this reigon for a while - people jsut have to come to our buildings and sign up, and people like Jared head to their home and help. He drove 5 hours with soem friend and then they slept outside the church one night in a tent, and the next night in the floor inside the church.

He did things like tearing our walls and helping move trash to the curbs - all people are throwing the ruined parts of their homes on the curbs so when the junk people come, they'll take it away. Like this street:


The water got up to about 4 feet where he was, as evidenced by this handy picture:

One of our church buldings there was damaged too - everything from 4 feet down had to be sent to the curb:

This was the chapel - the podium is scheduled to be torn out this week:


(I think Jared was just amused to see a vehicle in the chapel:)

This is a picture of a street he drove down, looking for homes to help. Well, there used to be homes...

This used to be someone's driveway. That used to be someone's home.

This is one home where the roof caved in:

And here's 2 sad pictures - people trying to defend their property from looters, other people who have no home:

Amazing stuff. I'm just glad I have such a wonderful husband who could go and help. And a church that gives us that chance, too.

So, have a thoughtful day, y'all.

SUPERCRACK out.

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel