border

good violining!

September 19, 2002 at 7:41 a.m.

So I'm standing there in my violin lesson, I've just played the Wienawksi 2nd movement and I'm waiting for feedback.

What am I thinking? "urg... that rhythm was so off... did she notice my arm was wrong? The bowing there is SO off - what the heck was I doing with it earlier??"

What does she say... first, some constructive criticism, then the praise. Alright...

When she asked me if I was the kind of person who followed through with things - why was this rhythm still off the next week? The little things could hold me back...

What is happening in my head? "that's okay, it's all good - do I follow things through? Well... I'm not sure. I have I suppose... what specific examples do I have of that.. OH CRACP it's not that bad am I about to cry??? NONONONONO what the heck man I can't turn back - my face is red - WHY DO I DO THIS - I'm not sad - it's just been a long day - AK!! She's asking me if I'm crying... I want to crawl under the piano!!!!"

Her - "why would you be crying??? Are you okay?"

me "it's just been a long day - I'm so sorry - I just do this to release pressure - please go on."

Her - "well, um.. is it okay if I continue? Okay... oh Reva... well, I just want to know what you want out of this masters degree because I'll help you get there. If you want to do fiddle, jazz improv, I can take a step back and help you just on your technical things... it's just...

(now here's the part that made me almost fall over)

"I don't now who ever told you that you didn't have a chance or a future as being a classical soloist - not like stuck in the back of the violin section in an orchestra - I mean ... listening to that made me so excited at the huge amount of potential - there's SO much potential - why haven't you ever thought of the possibility of being a professional solo performer- you could really do it."

******huh??*******

I don't know - no one ever had that much faith in me. No one sees me like she does - no one can help me utilize my body and grow musically like she does.

Did a little door open up today? We'll see what happens in a week when she hears me play the first movement - it's one of the most difficult pieces in violin music, and I've never been given anything that advanced.

Dallin played it... perfectly. When he get back next summer we can play it together. oooo!

I'd just like to say I have the best violin teacher ever. I came all the way to Arimazona to study with her and I'm so happy with my decision. She's always there, always wants to talk - always smiles and is so freaking good that I learn by just watching her.

I heart Dr. McLin!

heehee...

I'm glad I'm so diverse and I have so much going on.. I'm doing electric violin clinics this next year in Chicago, Toronto, Portland, and all over Australlia so far... maybe some in New Zealand, we'll see.

But no one ever said I had potential. No one ever said they could see potential to be a really good violinist...

oh golly, this entry is dull - I'm on my way to go practice and hug people.

SUPERCRACK says thanks to all of you for the loving... life is good:)

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel