border

new house things and *gasp* kids

August 10, 2005 at 9:03 a.m.

So last night at the Home Depot, we hit paydirt in the help department. 2 people who totally knew what they were talking about and I feel those kitchen cabinents starting to look better in my mind. They WILL be white, dagnabit!! AND glossy!!!

Anywho, as we were pricing carpet - we noticed something veraa nice - they ahve a special on right now where if you order over $1000 of carpet, you get a free Roomba!!!!!! A robotic vacuum!!!!

AND it's RED!!!!


Me wanty um... right now:)

Speaking of red, I spent all of yesterday at Ikea drooling over all things red.

I picked up a nice round rug for the kitchen


Which will look oh-so-fab with the floor we've picked out for the kitchen:)

How domestic do I seem?? It's all a joke, really. I'm totally clueless here. But Ikea? Oooohhh, happy happy joy joy.

&^$&^#&^#&^%#&^&^%#*^#*^%#*^%#*^%#*^*^&%$*&%$*^#%*^

So being at Ikea yesterday was all kinds of wonderful. I went with a nice lady from church and her 8-year old son. He was not as thrilled with Ikea as I was.

But he, oh boy, he was a wreck. He started off okay, but then he disolved into a jumping-on-mom, punching-mom-because-he-wanted-her-to-buy-him-something, angry-because-she-couldn't-carry-him little boy. Now I know that a child is selfish by nature - their brains don't compute as much the consequenses of their actions, even on someone they love. That scientifically doesn't happen until after the age of 18.

Still, it totally freaked me and made my inards shrivel up and say "Oh NO I do NOT want children ever!!!!" I have no maternal instincts, and I'm so terrified of these children who punch their moms (I have students who do this at 4 and 14) and no matter how much people tell me that you can raise them so they won't do this - I'm scared. I'm terrified of taking it personally and being hurt when my child who is tired and cranky screams at me like the kid did yesterday to have his mom buy him ice cream.

See, no way in HECK would I tolerate anything like that, but still, I don't know how some parents do it right and some don't and I simply have NO desire to ever have children. Nothing Jared has said has convinced me and nothing I've seen has convinced me in the slightest that being a parent is the worst thing a person can do to themselves.

And I'm trying to understand, but I just don't. Jared said I was just being selfish - and some other things that were hurtful last night (it was late and out of context they sound really bad so I won't share) and he's right - I'm so happy right now and I can't understand why I would introduce a child into my life who would do nothing but disappoint and hurt me.

See? Still being selfish I guess, but it's my diary dagnabit and I get to be.

Maybe someday I'll get hit with some kind of maternal instinct, but all I see is hurt and mean children, who aren't always doing it on purpose. They just aren't nice. And hey, I TEACH children. I do like some of them. A lot. I just see a lot of them at their worst and it does things to me.

Okay, enough of this rant. Jared wants me to go see a counselor to get over my fears and I guess that wouldn't be a bad idea, seeing as he made me go see someone for my eating disorder and for the first time, I got someone good who really helped me. But at this moment, I have too many bad images in my mind to think clearly. Maybe today as I teach for 5 hours I'll come up with some good ones. We'll see.

SUPERCRACK not so quick to procreate.

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel