border

helping hands

February 04, 2003 at 10:55 a.m.

I really need a new layout... this one is funny, but I've had it almost a year now and I need a change... my paper diary is going to be done today and I have to start a new one. My last 2 were gifts from Urmi and now I'm starting on one I had lying round that I got at Sleeping Lizards in Denton. ooo oooo ooooo... I need to go shopping there this weekend!

Odd to be going back there..

Just had the most infuriating violin lesson. Bach is hard enough without your teacher telling you to memorize most of a freaking FUGUE (the hardest junk to play) in one week...

And I'm getting a huge headache - everytime I have to play double-stops (they're every other note) I clench my teeth and my butt. That's how Pavoratti says he hits his high tenor notes - just clenches his butt cheeks together.

But MAN am I getting a headache... arg, and she wants all this memorized and performed in a year... how the heck all that's supposed to happen I have no clue. One day at a time, I guess.. Blah. I hate that advice, but it's true....

You know, I've been thinking - in response to Urmi's advice yesterday - she suggested I do one thing for myself every day to help make my life happier. Take time for myself. And I I agree with that n some levels - I know my mom could REALLY benefit from giving to herself rather than ignoring herself all the time.

But you know what would really help? If I could do something for someone else every day. That's what bought me out of a dangerous low last last fall, and I know that's the answer God put here for us... the glow you feel when you help another person is unimaginable... there's nothing like it. And few people get to feel that because we're such a selfish society sometimes.

When you're helping others, you're doing something that God would like to do for them but He wisely stays out of our way to give us freedom... and then if you come in and help that person, you get blessed with all these wonderful happy fuzzies because you're doing what His work for him.

So I need to help some people. I smile a whole heck of a lot at strangers, and they light up. That makes me feel good. And I crawl in bed with my roomates and listen to their lives when they need it. But what else can I do? Any ideas - MatMunch, you were the best at service in college - nobody surpassed him - he's a legend. Any ideas? Right now he's doing the ultimate service, defending us as part of the US Army. Wow. Something I know I couldn't do...

So that's the thought for today. I'm goona go help someone. I just don't know how or who yet..

SUPERCRACK is fishing.....

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel