border

Dallin RULES and here's why!

August 29, 2003 at 12:33 a.m.

It's late... 12:30am... I think I'll just got for an even 1am to fall asleep, that's good right?

I've been up typing a seriously boring paper on Ethnomusicology and fieldwork - here's a sample of the gunk I gotta write:

A mix between cultural anthropology, ethnography, and scientist, among others, an ethnomusicologist has to rely on much more than scholastic information to complete their research. As an ethnomusicologist of the northern Arctic tribes, Nicole Beaudry stated the opinion that she much preferred humans to a library. Recent directions in this field have turned its members from �armchair ethnomusicology� to active fieldwork. Preconceptions, misconceptions and human nature can possibly taint the end result, which begs the question; can music and/or culture exist without these touches of human �weaknesses,� and prejudices? And if the research process must be handled as such as a volatile and fragile experience, how is one to determine untainted success? It is my opinion that these things are determined heavily on the reception of the culture and the longetivity of the fieldwork.

Seriously. Dull.

But get this!!! I have gigantor news that I must share, which is why I am not sleeping right now, just to give y'all this information -

My grrovy kid brother, Dallin, having just returned from a two-year mission in Santiago Chile, is a sophmore at Colorado State University, taking a double major in Violin Performance and Electrical Engineering(seriously!! DUDE!!!). He just auditioned for the university syphony there, and as a sophmore who has not taken lessons in 2 years -

HE GOT CONCERT MASTER!!!!!!!!!!

That's first chair people - cream of the crop - leader of the string section. He beat out grad students for crying out loud!

And me, a grad student myself, am looking at somehting like 39th chair out of 40. Of course my excuse is I couldn't audition because my arm is injured, so he just placed me where ever, but the reality is that's exactly where he placed me last year, even when I did play an audition.

Dude, people. Seriously.

My brother rules. I'd be pretty depressed that he kicks so more butt than me, except that I hate playing in orchestras. I only do it because I gotta. And after this semester kiddos... if I'm lucky enough.... NO MORE ORCHESTRA!!! Especially ASU orchestra... dang, they are so freaking uptight!

&^$&^%#&^#%$*$*^($$*#&^$@&^#^*%#&^#%^#%

Oooo, by the way, my ward is participating in a Road Show - where you have a 15 minute play you perform in a few places in one night (hence, ROAD show) and I got a part!

Granted no one else showed up so I got to pick what I wanted, and I got the part of...

Warning - this is pretty bad....

Molly Mormon.

Heehee:) it's a spoof - it's called My Big Fat Mormon Date.

We LDS's are just sooo wacky;)

&^$&^%#&^#%$*$*^($$*#&^$@&^#^*%#&^#%^#%

So that's my big news. I don't have any exciting plans for this weekend I don't think, because I've decided to turn into a hermit. Feeling good about that one, I am. Not only do I get my work done so I can graduate and GO ON A CRUISE WITH URMI!!!! but it also keeps me away from boys, which keeps my heart from getting stomped on.

Did I mentioned I resent Loren for doing that?

That's enough, bad Reva!

Ech, I'm not over what he did to me. Don't know when I ever will be so I'll just be a hermit for a while then. Good thing we're still friends *laughs sarcastically then mutters under breath*

dang boys. grrrrrrr.

My violin looooves me though. Rowr, baby.

SUPERCRACK says thanks so much for all the encouragement today, people! I really needed it:) It's good here in cyberspace... think I'll stay here a while...

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel