border

dates are blind...

September 22, 2002 at 9:57 a.m.

so everyone said blind dates are the playground for the uninteresting and the plain...

not so.

I was wigging out - I mean, I've talked to this guy on the phone and he sounded abnormally cheerful, but why not, huh? go for it...

My sweet li'l roomate lent me a cool shirt to wear and I laid on the floor in her room wigging out while she stood guard at her window to see what the mystery man looked like...

oh yah, maturity 101 - Reva style:)

Well, she was looking but all she could tell from his walk up to the door was that he was tall... okay, plus...

And I was not going to have her open the door, because she's adorable and cute and then he'd see her and then see me and thing "dang!" so I had to go and see him for myself...

I opened the door and this tall, cute guy with a huge grin is standing there... I was NOT expecting this. He has the same name as my kid brother, so I was expecting a tall lanky blonde... I know, dumb, but that's what my brain did. Instead, this guy is dark haired and built.. ex-football player.

So instead of staring in shock, I said something stupid about need to get my jacket because it might be cold in the theatre.

I am such a goober! I hate dating! I hate attractive boys! I hide from them! AKAKAKAK. Boys think they have it bad? It's so hard to act cool - dang I don't even know how. Maybe my roomate will give me some pointers...

Anywho, we went to an Indian dance recital at ASU. We met up with the girl that set us up and her hubby.. well actually, they were already in the hall and had left some tickets for us that we couldn't locate.. so when the usher said "Oh, are you Heather's friends?" he jumped in and said "sure are!"

I don't know who Heather is, but I wonder if her friends got annoyed later when their tickets were missing...

heehee illegal....

Anywho, I don't know if it's rude to constantly talk about your best friend on a date - but I'm, obsessed with Indian culture because of what Urmi shared with me and so many things reminded me of her and cool things her family does and I just gabbed about her all night long.. it was SO AMAZING! The dancers were from India and here and ... well, I can't even describe how incredible they were. The misicians were astounding too. Golly I love the tabla!! Reva was in heaven!

It did last a long time... from 6:30 to 10pm. My butt sure got a workout there:)

Then we went with the couple we doubled with to their apartment and ate ice cream and gabbed and then he took me home and... he's realy sweet. And he laughs a lot. maybe because I'm funny looking....

I just can't do this. I feel so akward and self-conscious on dates.. not that I'm worried if they'll like me because I've got enough friends in the world who do:) But it's... ak, I just don't know. The guy is kind of in charge and makes the plans and then I have to be entertaining or something? Urp... it's just akward to me - maybe it's because all I seem to do here are fisrt dates..

but I got in and my cute roomate was lounging on the couch and asked me about my night... then when I'd asked her about her night she mentioned she'd had a date with this boy I think is extra cute in the ward... it was a really cool date too, but she didn't sound too excited - just mentioned it in passing. It had been like, her 3rd date with a new boy this week and so it's all a part of the territory or something...

ak, I don't think I could do that. And then I went to bed thinking I was a dork because I'd freaked out about my date and she was all cool and suave-y.

akakakakakakkkk dating is too hard. I just want a boy to take me out to dinner and to a movie. If I didn't have to keep pretending to be charming (probably doesn't work but I keep telling myself it does:) the entire time, maybe I'd freak out less.

oh golly I need a hug. Oh wait, I got one last night from a 6'4" hottie RM... and honestly, I just want to hide under the kitchen sink. I don't know why, it just seems a little safer.

SUPERCRACK needs some sanity!!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel