border

dance therapy

September 09, 2002 at 8:31 a.m.

My funk quickly ended Friday... I went to financial aid to pick up my check and there it was, because apparently I had dropped it in the lobby on my way out Thursday and someone had returned it. Relief number one...

Then it started raining - the only relief I could get from the massive heat. My skin never really cooled from the heat exhaustion the day before so WHOA MAMA was it welcomed.

I went to the opening social for the ASU institute by myself and felt like a cad... everyone there was talking to themselves and I just sat there for a few minutes, then booked it. Maybe I shoulda stayed later, and made some friends, but I doubted it. ANd I was still feeling sorry for myself. Pooooor Reva, huh?

Well then, I headed over to my buddy Kely's place to go to a party with him and guys I'd met tubing and such. They are soo funny. I didn't feel funny. What was a girl to do?

Kely drove, and we all ended up at a nice empty house where one of our crew set up his ultra-cool DJing equipment. We were the first ones at the party - and for the most part, there were only 2 ladies compared to the dozens of guys who came streaming in, looking for ladies. They tried flirting with me, but it didn't work - I don't flirt... well, rarely.

I'll let you in on that secret some other time... but usually, if you think I'm flirting with you, I'm not. There's only one way to tell if I am... *snickersnicker* but later my children...

Anywho, they were looking for a cute girl wearing hip huggers and a simle and ready to hook it up and... I can't pretend to be that way. I was wearing my big khaki pants and my fun shirt. We all have a fun shirt, and I figured it was enough. I hadn't sprayed my hair into place or put any makeup on... don't see the need, most of the time.

Finally some girls showed up and I was off the hook for male attention. I sat there while girls piled in and ignored me... I felt like such a grubbey goober I wanted to pass out. I wished my car was there... rrrrgggg I felt old. Some guy took pity on me, sitting there with all those girl next to me, pretending I wasn't there, and had a shallow li'l conversation with me, which made me feel worse.

I snuck out and sat by the side of the house and left messages on my friend's ansering machines, watching people file into the party through the trees.

I eventually returned to the party and one of the guys I'd come with offered me a place on the couch... I was at the brink of tears when these guys insisted I dance with them... I couldn't. My legs wouldn't move. And why would these guys want to dance with me? I'm not cool enough...

Then they dragged me off the couch my my feet and started dancing right next to me... oh man, I LOVE to dance, but I stood there, I couldn't move... but they wouldn't stop smiling or poking me, so I eventually started moving a little... kind of felt good...

At one point when I left the partay and sat on the other side of the street to call a friend, I got another phone call on the other line.. "Where are you? Get back here and dance with us!!"

It was one of the guys in the party, insisting I come in and enjoy myself. Awww.... I felt so groovy. I wasn't one of the prettypretty girls, but it didn't matter, because some people wanted me to come have fun.

I'm starting to feel a little more normal... still feel like I dress like an old lady:)

I have a full day today, but later I'll fill you in on a werid story about a dead dog and my first accidental dinner party at ASU!!!

SUPERCRACK has a busy day of violining....

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel