border

crocodile reva

July 02, 2003 at 10:56 p.m.

Did you know you drive on the left side of the road on Australia? I didn't either until I got here and started screaming the first time our friend Bob took a right turn out of the airport.

heehee.

But now I think I'm so comfortable with this, I'm going to have problems driving on the right side when I get back to the states. Really!

^%#%$#@$#&%^#%$@&$#^*%#*^#%$@&^#^%@#^%$#*&%

So I'm in Darwin. It's on the northern tip center of Australia, and it's warm and tropical. Finally! We got here yesterday morning and got to work... tourist style!

While we were at a small shop buying a sarong (woohoo!) the lady behind the desk suggested in a dazed way that we should check out the fireworks that night at Mindal Beach. Mom wondered why she was so dazed, but mom also didn't know that those "pretty pieces of artwork" for sale right next to the register were all bongs...haahaa!

Anyway, we kiked it to the beach to discover that July 1st for the Northern Territory is Self-Government Day (they've had statehood for 25 years now!) and they celebrate is a lot like we celebrate the 4th of July in the states...

although, I must say I have NEVER seen that many fireworks in my LIFE!

We sat on the beach in the crowd, watching the sun go down over the ocean... my goodness it is beautiful here. The locals were letting off huge fireworks dangerously close to the crowd - like, IN the crowd sometimes (I got hit a few tomes - ouch!) and it made my heart a little lighter.

Then, after the sun went down, we watched the biggest fireworks display set off from a pontoon (sp?) off in the ocean. one huge firework filled the entire sky... it was amazing!

All of this was visable right next to the Southern Cross... a constelation I never thought I'd see, down here in the southern hemisphere.

Wow.

I'm going to be missing the 4th of July again. IN another country. Oh well. I got to see stuff blown up, and that makes it all worthwhile, doesn't it?;)

And today... Mad, I ended up watching crocodiles jump out of the wather, saw termite hills over 6 meters high, took a bushwak in a jungle and the bush, and swam in the most amazing streams and rivers with fishes and .. I swear, it was out of some movie or something. WOW. Anywho, here's a pic of me and a "croc":)

&^%*&%^*&$&#^%$#^%#^%$%$*&%$*&%$*^%#*&%$&^%*(%^

So I come home on July 16th, I think. And my feelings have started shifting a little... I have a lot on my mind that I just can't shake. Tree, if any of you remember from back a long ways - like a year and a half ago, is engaged to a girl he was seeing while he was seeing me. That in itself is knowledge that deserves to be brushed aside quickly, but add that to my recent heartbreaks, the fact that my whole scholastic future is in serious question and all other bits of mayhem...

I don't want to go home. I want to stay her in Australia.

I don't want to live my life anymore. I want to hide here and pretend like everything isn't so scary and horrible. I don't want to get on that plane.

I'll just try to enjoy the moment... but I don't want the moments to go away so soon. I want to stay here. I do. ug.

SUPERCRACK means it... maybe.... kind of.... tomorrow I'm laying ona beach all day and ignoring more real life. mmmhmm.

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel