border

getting away ain't easy...

May 21, 2002 at 1:00 p.m.

ug. I'm slumming.

After a few weeks of cable modem free from the giving cable company, it's suddenly not responding and I had to blow the dust off my dial-up modem.

grrrr.

Yesterday something snapped in me. I had to run away - escape for a bit. I grabbed my guitar and my journal and I headed for a park with no bad memories attached to it.

This was it - this was my breath of fresh air - everything would feel good again - my mind would be clear again - I would spew forth some deep thoughts and either a new song would emmerge or a bit more of me at least...

The three schoolbus loads of elementary children should have tipped me off....

but I stayed anyway. walked about a bit with my huge airplane-safe guitar case on my shoulder, trying to find a solitary patch of nature in the shade with as few bugs as possible.

Not possible.

I finally caved and sat down on the edge of the path next to a tree and started playing.

First I noticed the dog poo a few feet away.

Then I noticed I had been eaten alive by insects.

Then one of my strings broke.

Thankfully, the irony was not lost on me and giggled all the way back to the car, and all the way to the grocery store where I bought some of that Band-Aid Ani-Itch gel, which, by-the-by, has me very excited. Don't know why, it just makes me way too happy..

(*&^^$#%@$%$#^$^&*%&*^*&))*&%%##^#^%$^%^*&&^

I don't know anyone in Arizona but a producer and cousin I haven't seen in 10 years who lives 2 hours from my school.

I'm getting excited though - I wish I was graduating in a ceremony here, but I don't think it'll work into my schedule. The ceremnoy up in Oklahoma was so great, it made me wish for my own...

but I'm going to be Colorado in August. And California. I have to move on and get a new zip code again. A new phone number.

le sigh...

I don't really feel like I own my undergrad degree. It's like I was one of those cars from Autopia at Disneyland... I can steer, but there's a track under there keeping you one the path, regardless.

I'm going to have to own my master's degree. It's already so hard...

SUPERCRACK is goona go practice.. not an easy feat for a girl that cut her finger on a crock pot... the SAME one I mutilated on a steel drum earlier this semester!! grrrrrr

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel