border

SAHM?!

March 03, 2008 at 10:00 a.m.

A girl on the Disney Chanel yesterday told us that a candy bar is not a healthy snack. It made me go eat a Ding Dong.

Being an adult rocks.

&*^%*$&^%$&^*&%*&%*&%*&^%*&^%*&^%*&^%*&^%

Solei took a nap Saturday afternoon while Jared and I worked in the back yard. Normally, I detest outdoor work - mostly because I hate bugs SO MUCH and I freak out and think they're everywhere.

But they're not out and about yet, and it was finally warm enough to be out. We'd had a great morning before the nap - Jared's mom had kidnapped Solei so we could get some errands done and I was feeling capable and good. The night before I'd had a show with my band that went well, and we had a big gig that night to look forward to.

I had a feeling I have had very few times - I felt good, settled exactly where I was. Happy with my house, my life, the whole enchilada.

I remember feeling that way twice before - once when I was pregnant and we were living in our last house in the other side of Atlanta, and once early last year in Brasil. I felt good, settled, happy with my life.

As I basked in that feeling of cententment, my brain reminded me what happened right after that feeling those 2 previous times... the bottom dropped out and we moved to another continent each time.

So now I'm happy and nervous. What does life have to throw at me next??

&%$&^%$^%#^$&^%$&^#%$&^#*&^%^#

So late Satrday I headed to my gig - we were the headliners at a big party downtown. We didn't even go ON until 1 am - good golly, I am SO too old for that!!

But we were ON, people. It was such a great show and I must say, I kicked some booty. Unfortunately, the show was held at a dance studio so there were mirrors everywhere to remind me that those green pants were a super bad idea. I looked so mom-like (to me, at least) - I'd been going for relaxed, hip. Well, I got the first part down.

But, I made up for it by rocking. I am one heck of a celtic fiddler these days, rowr! The crowd was super great and made me feel all kinds of rock star.

And then, there's my surreal moment for the day - as I was leaving, I was approached by an entertainment lawyer who asked me if I did any session work (I do) and if I ever did country (I have). He got all grin-y and told me they were looking for some young female fiddle player (i.e. hott) to record with a new group they were touting as the new D1xie Ch1cks and blow up and he'd like me to consider the idea.

Huh. Fame, fortune? Intriguing....

And then he asked the QUESTION - "So what do you do besides play with this band?"

... I don't know why it came out of my mouth first - I don't think I've ever even SAID these words .... but I heard myself say -

"Oh, I'm a stay-at-home mom."

.
.
.

I didn't say I am a violin teacher, I gig about with another band and record here and there at various studios... I said I was a MOM.

I mean, I AM, but I don't usually admit it, and not when I'm getting approached for gigs. Who the heck said that??

His face changed, his smile was a little less broad and he told me to e.mail him so we could discuss possibilities, but who knows? Stay at home moms don't travel all over to record and tour, right? I wouldn't hire me.

You'd think an experience like this would have dropped me into a depressed tizzy, but it didn't. I was still happy - AM happy where I am. I love my kid, I love making my own hours to teach and perform. (and truth be told, I really hate country music ;)

Hey, at least I know the ol' gal still has it!!

SUPERCRACK. IT!
!


rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel