border

some rants

November 09, 2007 at 8:09 p.m.

Rats, foiled again.

Recently a place opened up right by my house that has supervised-play for babies, and a coffee house for mommies. I saw it the other day as I was driving home after a gloomy trip to the park where all Solei wanted to do was eat wood chips.

So, I made a playdate, packed up my laptop this morning and told myself "that�s it, Reva! We�re getting out today!" But then a few things went aw... namely, my playdate companion�s whole house came down with colds, and when I did manage to make it to the place I discovered I had forgotten my purse. Quick, drove home and got it then back in, where I checked my baby for some play time with other babies for the low low price of $5 while I was to surf the web away with my laptop. Not bad, eh?

But then I settled down into the coffee house, where I discovered the only place with outlets for a gal with a non-functioning laptop battery was in a secluded room off to the side. SO I�m in this windowed room, looking out at a room full of mommy friends talking and chatting, and I�m the only loser with a laptop for company. We all know how much the Reva loves feeling left out... dang extroverted ways.

And how�s this for even happier? I can�t connect my laptop to the wireless here. I have the password but I can�t figure out how to make Vista do my bidding. Stupid Vista.

It just makes me want to sob, sitting here alone, no internet to keep me company, sneaking over to see Solei every few minutes and wishing I was in there playing with her. But she needs to play on her own, with some other kids.

Oh, the best laid plans... At least Solei is happy.. I think.

&%^%$^&$&^%$&^$&^%$&^%$&^%$&^

And now for something completely different... Am I the only weirdo that is wondering how Argentina can have a woman prez, and the leader of Pakistan�s opposition party a former PM is a woman, and yet America has yet to get a lady in our highest office? I�m just wondering. I mean, Pakistan?? That�s incredible to me � we�re supposed to be all open-minded here and we are supposed to view the Muslim countries as sexist and oppressive, yet we can�t manage to do it ourselves?

And how about this � Bhutto in Pakistan and the new prez lady in Argentina (the wife of a former president, btw) are gorgeous women. You can be strong and beautiful, and holy cannolli our 2 most powerful ladies (Clinton and Pelosi) look like dudes. Unattractive dudes. Okay, I�m a horrible person for going on the surface on this one, but it�s a woman�s RIGHT to be pretty. Heck, we�re easier to shop for too, because there�s so much sparkly to appeal to a lady. I�m a smart woman, I think I�ve accomplished a fair bit in my life, but I also can look easy in the eyes too. It�s like the icing on the cake that is being a woman.

We�ve got some amazing women in this country � you�d think we could come up with one who IS a woman � inside and out � and also has the stamina to handle American politics. Just sayin.

And another thing (has Reva been waching the news too much lately??) � this whole Dog the Bounty Hunter thing. I feel so genuinely bad for the guy. Maybe because I know that the older generation did grow up with that horrible word as a part of their daily vernacular, and many of them never learned that it is a bad word. Heck, a while back a grandparent who shall not be named tried explaining to Jared and I why it was okay to call them that � not in any malicious way, but because of the county of Niger. He just didn�t understand that the word carries hurt with it, he�s just old and that�s what he�s been taught.

And come on � have any of these naysayers even watched the show?? Have they seen this man speak?? He�s so incredibly ignorant, although passionate. He says some crazy crazy stuff. He has a 7th grade education and he�s lived in the lowest our society has to offer � as a criminal and as a prisoner, now as a bounty hunter - classy? I think not. Language and understanding among those types is... well, stunted. It�s still not right, and after listening to his explaination you can�t help but believe the man. If you haven�t watched him explain himself, and even listen to the tape that was sold, then you just can�t give a blanket censure.

It's got to be confusing for a man to hear black people call each other that word, but then getting attacked for using it himself.

It's still not okay, but gooly golly America, show some compassion for someone who is genuinely sorry.

Gah - and that horrible tabloid had been bugging his son for MONTHS - had a contract with him to find dirt on his dad just so they could make a mess for him. The girlfriend he was speaking about had already tried to attack his wife, for crying outloud! And I love this - on Larry King, Dog was asked if he thought his son would marry this trouble making girl - and he cried "He'd better!! If he's making me go through this for her, she'd better be worth it!"

I just love that answer. Maybe all that educatin' has stunted my reasoning:)

SUPERCRACK's just sayin.


rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel