border

mommy hormones

November 05, 2007 at 7:09 p.m.

Why is it that since I became a mother, I cry at EVERYTHING?? Dude, every freaking commercial with a sappy theme gets me. I tear up, and then get irritated at myself for doing it, but I can't control myself.

Today at a friend's place, she had a CD on with a chick singing christian chick music. Now as a musician, I am against sappy stuff like that. I mean, shooting for the easy stuff. Gah - like that Christmas song about the kid who needed to buy those shoes for his mom but he didn't have the money and he wanted to SO MUCH because she was DYING. I mean SERIOUSLY. Instead of composing some decent music, you find the cheesiest lyrics, badly written but if you stick in someone dying and a little kid, who cares how bad the music is, you hit below the belt and you get a reaction every time.

I don't like to go for the easy reaction. I work to bring tears to the eyes of my audience. I don't need dying kids, just years and years of practice. The smallest motions of my fingers to pull just the right sound out of my violin. I WORK for it.

So as a serious musician, I get irritated when I hear cheesy music that goes for the easy emotion getter. Really, really annoyed. And I get even more annoyed when, like today, I hear this song about motherhood (easy!) with lyrics like "she's not a decorated diplomat...but she hold and loves their little hands." Oh MAN, the guitar work was so bad I could have played it, and her melodies were pathetic.

And I find myself freaking tearing up. And really mad, because I know the musician went for the easy shot and since my mommy hormones are insanely overactive, they are manipulating me. Jerkfaces!!

I hate me getting all teary. I found this blog about a family with quintuplets (by the way, scroll down to the second entry - BEST PICTURE EVER.)

Oh, speaking of awesome, check out Jared's entry on the famblog. As you read it, imagine hearing him laughing. He keeps rereading and giggling at himself. He's so funny when he's amused with himself:)

SO now I'm off to try and keep my emotions in check. Stupid mommy hormones.

SUPERCRACK..sniff.

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel