border

life is good

October 24, 2007 at 9:18 p.m.

Okay, I'm not sure if Jared can get any sexier. He just bought us a GPS system - which in itself is COMPLETELY AWESOME seeing as I get lost constanty, especially to some of my city-bound gigs. But noooo, he stepped it up and downloaded our handy dandy direction-voice-person as none other than MR. T!!

(and the lowest this puppy retails for is $250. He paid $150. SO HOT!!!)

Mr. T just told me not to drink and drive!! Yes, sir!!!

^%$&$$#&^$^%&$^$&^^$&^$&^%$%*&%*&

Thanks to all who commented about my ast and present sexiness. Dagnabit, being happier is more attractive than a short skirt and a hot haircut??

Ya'lls priorities are outta whack.

^%$&^%$&^$&^$*&^$#^%$&^$&^%$&^%$&^%$&^

I had a job interview yesterday. "A job," you say?? "Don't you already teach privately and spend the rest of the time watching PBSkids with your baby??"

Well... yes. But I've kept my studio as small as possible and all the alone time with Solei - as awesome as it is - I wish I could get her out and around other kids more. Not like she needs it, but she WANTS it. This kid is so extroverted it's scary.

I wonder who she takes after?

But my darling Mandi's daughter's preschool is looking for a part-time music teacher, and I was curious. It's 3 mornings a week. Here's the pros:

* Solei would get to be in the daycare i.e. with other kids for free.

* I'm really curious about how I'd do teaching toddlers curriculum. I think it would me a cool challenge.

*I'm scarily good in front of classes of wee ones. The special needs school I've been teaching at sporadically is so surprised at how well I work with the kids, they can't stop yammering at me. Heck, I'm surprised myself.

*It's only in the mornings, that's not bad.

*I'd make some new friends. You know I loves me some humans.

Cons:

*Lots of prep time I'm assuming. I don't do things halfway, unforch.

*The pay is shockingly low. Lesse.. in 9 hours of week at that rate, I could make the same amount in 90 minutes teaching privately. I wouldn't quit teaching privately, but you get the point.

*2 days a week when I do teach lessons in the afternoons, Solei would have daycare in the morning then be watched in the afternoon as well while I taught. Can I give up that much Solei time??

Discuss amongst yourselves. I will say this though - getting my resume ready for the interview was sure an egoboost. Dang if I don't look good on paper! Must keep a copy nearby for when I feel like a loser...

&^%*&%^$&^%&*%*&%&%&%*&^%*&%*&

Jane made a comment in her ode to me that has been on my mind of late. At first I thought "that ain't right!" and now the more I think about it... dagnabit She's so right. Here's what I'm talking about:

Reva is such a high energy girl. Very passionate. Highs are to the moon and lows are the depths of despair. (Kind of Anne of Green Gables-ish in that regard)

GAH. I totally am a drama queen. And really, a less-kinder way of naming it would be bordering-on-psycho-bipolar queen, but drama queen probably fits best.

I was thinking back to how danged good life feels lately - how I've settled back into this America thing, this mommy thing, this new house thing, this teacher thing. And how different I felt in Brasil... When honestly, as bad as it seemed, I was being blessed by so many people and growing so much closer to my husband and my new baby. I enjoyed a lot of my time there, I really did, contrary to what my overly dramatic blogging would have suggested.

And I thought to myself "I wonder if I know the reason why we had to go through our Brasilian experience..." - and a few things came to me.

*Our marriage grew so much, preparing us for parenthood together.

*Job-wise, it was a great move, and it facilitated the now-job.

*Monetarily-wise, we couldn't have afforded our house in our new town had we not worked in Brasil. It helped out muchly. (and it keeps on paying - we just got some residuals that covered our awesome new bedroom set!!_

*Since the new job moved us to the new side of town, we are within 5 minutes of our in-laws, who adore our baby and who our baby adores.

*I live 10 minutes away from a best girlfriend. I haven't been this lucky in years!! And heck, without this blog I would never have met my Mandi. (we met blogging, she moved to ATL when I left, and when I came back and moved into her backyard, she took me under her sexy, sexy wing.)

Dude, Friday I had a hellish meeting with a pediatrician who was pretty callous and left me crying my eyes out. A quick call to mandi and 4 minutes later she was holding my baby and me while I cried and her gorgeous kids did their darndedst to cheer me up.

I know this is an anthem in my life, but good golly I wish I could have known this when I was going crazy a year ago. I'd have enjoyed the journey a bit more. Spent less time crying and more time getting cheap Brasilian butt implants. Oh, to live life to the fullest....

Please, future self - it all works out in the end. You need to calm down and just have some faith!

anyone else think I can learn this lesson anytime soon? Yeah, I didn't think so either ;)

SUPERCRACK is super. really.

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel