border

scooters, blogging, etc.

June 17, 2007 at 10:02 p.m.

Wednesday night I was in the foulest of moods. Something about rushing to get all dressed while Solei is screaming after she's refused to eat... ooo doggies.

Jared and I were going to the temple and I had to get Solei ready for a night of babysitting at the in-laws and pick him up at work. By the time I got there and he cheerfully hopped into the car, I warned him not to speak to me until I cooled off.

When I was all chipper again, I gave him the all-clear for conversation.

He tossed a print-out on my lap with this picture on it:

I had told him he could get one of these to commute to work with if he got life insurance and a good price, so he's been shopping around for one and showing me his findings every so often.

"So tell me about it," I said.

"Well, it's a 2000, it has a lot of miles, made by the Vespa people and it was $250 and there were actually 2 of them so Mike bought one and I bought the other and we're driving to Alabama on Saturday to pick it up."

"........."

He look at me nervously through the side of his eyes.

"Aren't you supposed to tell me before you make motor vehicle purchases??"

Good golly that was a freaking surprise. It had happened in the last 5 minutes and that's why he'd had to jump on it so quickly - it was just such a random thing to hear, I never know what he's going to say! I'm thrilled he got it - it's actually a Piaggio, a real mail delivery vehicle imported from Italy, and I'm thrilled that he got to have a mini road trip with his best friend, and he wouldn't have even thought about getting it if he didn't know I'd say yes.

It's just moments like this that I remember how random and insane he is, and that's why I fell in love with him in the first place.

Thanks for being my baby daddy, Jared!!!!

&^%$&^%$^%$#^%$&^$&^%$&^%$&^%*&^%*&^%

Okay, this Micheal Buble song makes me smile, makes my toes curl and makes me want to dance.

Don't you?? Dang that's cute.

^%$%$#^%$#%^$&^$%^$#^%$&^$&^$&^%$&^%$&^%$

This topic has been in my head for a while now, and I think it's time to discuss it. It want to talk about diaryland and my decision to be here.

I have been writing on this website for 7 years. I remember the day I heard about online diaries - I was sitting in a quartet rehearsal and the cellist, Maria, mentioned that her friend had this diary-website thing and people as far as Russia were writing in and responding, and I got so excited I felt like I was on fire. I wanted to write things and be heard all over the world! I went home and searched for the site she'd told me about, "diaryland."

I was over at my friend's house that night and wrote the first entry. I stayed up all night figuring out this "html" thing and added a guestbook and a counter, how I'll never know. (by the way, the next year of entries is missing die to a locking of the diary once I found out an ex had been reading it then I forgot the password and well, I have no idea how to get them back - although I do have a hard copy for my own use)

I'd been keeping and am still keeping a paper journal, but the ability to have my friends and strangers hear my thoughts, to hear their thoughts, it was so exciting, I was addicted immediately! It never once occured to me that there were any other hosts I should look at, and diaryland has always had a great sense of sommunity.

Do any other old skoolers remember what it used to be like here? The chat room was always hopping, and when Andrew, the founder started gold memberships, there were so many fun goodies being introduced, like the surveys, banner ads and favorite entries and notes (I was here when he came up with notes!), and all the html features he kept adding like random entries.

Then people started getting sick of diaryland, and it's one-entry-per-page format (you can do more, but it's tricky). There was the fact that there's no built in comments area except for members, you have to pay for a gold membership to host pictures and you still have to know html to do it. And the site crashes regularly - most recently for a whole week, arg!

First, people started leaping to Livejournal (this was years ago still). It's verrrryyy community based but you have to pay to be able to really customize the layout and add sitemeters and such. Then, it was Blogger which basically has everything you'd want in a blog - you don't have to know squat about html or code to do anything, woohoo! And now people are jumping to Wordpress too.

And then there's me... there are so few of the original people here and it seems like a ghost town, honestly. So why am I still here?

1. I'm sentimental. There's so much history here, I like it all being in one place.

2. I loooove that the layout is so easy to manipulate. I can make my own layouts so easily, and I'm a html doofus. I love, love, love having the flexibility that diaryland has in that regard.

3. I like just one entry a page. It make me make full, complete entries and it really is like turning the pages of a book as I travel back in time and read about the college Reva. Like Smed says, not a blogger - an essayist.

4. I'm sentimental. That's really the biggest part. I don't think I could move after all these years... I like the comfort of the html and one entry per page... it's just sentiment, really.

I'm not blasting anyone out there for moving around, I've followed you and I don't think anyone less for doing it. Every time someone jumps ship though, I think about why I am still here at this antiquated site with a silly word like "diaryland" in the title.

That's why though. And I don't know if I'll ever change. Never say never, but those are my reasons for being here.

What are your reasons for being a diarylander?

SUPERCRACK out!


rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel