border

must. own. red. car.

March 01, 2007 at 9:22 a.m.

Less than a week and a half� we�re leaving Brasil next Saturday it seems. Good golly, there is SO much to do! Here, we are trying to unload furniture and things we don�t need (and fielding tons of requests for all our stuff we happen to be taking � people wanting to buy our computers, baby toys, and one very persistent woman who wants our BABY) and on the web Jared is frantically trying to figure out cars to buy, where to possibly move, etc.

We have a kid, we need a parent car, right? We don�t need the minivan yet. And maybe we need a station wagon� Jared�s been searching all of these at heap cheap prices, when he made the fatal flaw of showing me a picture of this car and asked me if I�d be interested in it:

Now he�s screwed. How can I say �Yes, let�s get the 1998 blue station wagon, I�d love to drive that!� when my last car was a red Mustang and then he goes and stupidly shows me picture of a red Jetta???? And they are pricier than the $4,000 station wagon� (Yes, we�re that cheap � my Mustang was under $2 grand, woohoo!) so he has �nu-huh� going on.

Oh man, I try so hard to be low maintenance. He�s cheap, I accept it and I�ve given up some bigger ticket items in my world and I�m okay with that. Because I love him.

But now every time I think about zipping around town in a red Jetta, it fills me with the hope that I am NOT turning into a suburban Mormon mommy stereotype, I still have cool in my bones, and then I want to make out with Jared. But he won�t kiss me back, because he knows in my mind I�m not kissing him. I�m kissing a red Jetta. Good golly I�m such a great test case.

%$#^%$@^%@%$#%&^%$&^%$&^%$&^%$^&%&$^%$&

They�re checking his references, and I�m all a-twitter. There�s so much that will change in such a tiny period of time. If he gets the job, they want him to work immediately, and poor Jared will be insanely exhausted from a cross-hemisphere move.

And then there�s the need to possibly relocate across ATL, since the job is about a 40 minute drive across some of the worst traffic in the country. I love our neighborhood, but I guess I�ll have to get used to a new one. I mean, our location is PERFECT, I live down the street from every store known to the states. Seriously, 3 malls, a SuperTarget and WalMart, 2 craft stores, a dollar movie, a Kroger, a LaMadeline, an Aldi, several Asian markets with great sushi, gah, it�s perfect. And an elementary school, but I�m not needing that just yet. Just sayin.

Buuut, right across from the possible office is a new Trader Joe�s � now that�s something to celebrate! I just get lost every time I�m on that side of town. And I�m pretty sure there is no Super Target, something I find rather super in my daily existence.

Oh, moving I hate thee so.

^%$&^$^%$#^%$#%#&^%$&^%$&^$&#&%^$&^$&^%$

You know what I never thought I�d be able to do? Speak another language. I really did not think it was possible. But you live somewhere for 6 months, you pick up lots of stuff, apparently. I�m not perfect by any means, and my grammar is beyond awful, but I can spend whole weekends with people who speak nothing but Portuguese and not run out of things to say and be understood.

It amazes me how fast I can speak, too. I need to call up Annie and talk to her just because I know she�ll appreciate it. It�s sad I�ll forget it, but the side of town we live on has a high Brasilian population and many are LDS, so I�ll get to use it a tad.

I just didn�t think I could, and without lessons and only studying maybe twice, I can speak another language.

So weird. Louca.

Eu nao entendo. E eu precissio mais arroz doce. Meu cabessa doi porque eu pensao muito Portuguese�.

^%$%$#%$#%$#^%#^%#%$#^%#^%$#^%$#^%##@%$#@%$

Jared just sent me a link to a black Jetta. That�s okay too right? I don�t want to make out with it though. Must. Stifle. Craving.

Heehee, he just told me that back before I came along, his BF and he figured only hot girls drove Jettas. I want to be a hot girl, oh please!! I can�t be hot unless I own a car that SAYS I�m hot. You are only pretty if the things you buy are pretty.

CRAP!! I�m thinking like an American again and I�m not even in the country yet!!

SUPERCRACK. Shallow, but willing to admit it if it gets her a (red)Jetta.

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel