border

week and a half...!

February 28, 2007 at 1:26 p.m.

Sorry for the hiatus! With Jared out of the country, you�d think I had spent every other minute crying and freaking out (when I wasn�t changing diapers, anyway), but I did�t have a chance to.

Again I say�. These women are amazing people. My friend Betiane stayed here with me every second while the dad and hubby was gone. She calmed Solei with me, helped me cook, helped me clean, and kept me distracted with her smile and amazing personality. WOW. You wouldn�t know it to speak to her, but she�s been raising her 3 kids alone after her husband was murdered a few years ago. She loves caring for babies and it was her job until her tendonitis became so bad that she couldn�t do it any more. But she spends almost very minute laughing, smiling, and serving other people.

I�m just in awe. I have learned so much from this amazing woman and I can�t for the life of me figure out what I can do to ever repay her somehow. Does ANYone have any suggestions????

%$#^%$@^%@%$#%&^%$&^%$&^%$&^%$^&%&$^%$&

Yes, daddy is back! Jared came back yesterday after a whirlwind day of interviews. The company really liked him and told him they want to move to the next step and check his references.

This is incredibly positive�! I think that after we leave here in a week and a half, there�s a strong possibility that Jared may need to go to work there the next day. Poor him � he�ll definitely need some rest, but it�s so nice to know we have direction. SO NICE!!!!! Jared�s sister just had a baby and she and her husband are waiting to hear about his acceptance into grad schools, and as proud as I am for all they are accomplishing, holy CRAP am I glad I didn�t have to deal with having a baby and having a husband still in school. I am so incredibly blessed and happy that everything has turned out how is has. I got my education, I got to travel the world (still not done doing that apparently ;) , I got to try out the wife thing for a year and now, we�re doing the parenthood thing.

It�s nice that the powers that be allowed my life to take these steps in this order, even though the steps were covered in broken glass and 30 feet tall!

^%$&^$^%$#^%$#%#&^%$&^%$&^$&#&%^$&^$&^%$

So I swore I wouldn�t be that girl that got married, had a kid, and started looking like a scarecrow. Unfortunately, life is beating me with the tired/crazy-looking stick and it�s been hard to get all presentable every day. I mean, I�m doing okay and as of today I have a 4 and a half month old baby, learned how to speak functioning Portuguese in 6 months and I�m slipping out of a size 6 pair of pants. Not bad, eh?

And then my therapist charged me last time to get dressed every day before Jared left for work, not just take a shower and put my wet hair up and don pj�s all day. Jared�s been very supportive and has helped me along, and I do feel better. He doesn�t ever care if I have make-up on or not, but some days he takes Solei and insists I take few extra minutes to do it because he knows it will make me feel better. I�m not a beauty queen every day, but I�m slowly kicking the PPD and it�s giving me a good feeling.

Not every day is perfect and some days I just don�t have time. Friday morning was like that.

I got dressed, but I didn�t have time to dry my hair in between the craziness of Solei eating and insisting she go on a walk to the park. No worries, I was going to do it later.

*side note � I really really need a haircut and some highlights, but the women here have such bad hair that I�m waiting until I get back to the states to get anything done. The result is my hair is sooo long and takes forever to dry and I hate doing it. And I�d get that problem fixed but good golly, if you could see the bad cuts I�ve seen�!*

So this woman came by Friday morning to have a friendly chat with me, and in between gossiping about how much she disliked her MIL and other people (I love positive people, don�t you??) she said: �You should put on make up and get your hair done. You�d look pretty, it�s fun.�

I�m sure she didn�t mean it how she sounded � and I think she was offering to color my hair. But her highlights look really um� bad. And after I�ve been trying to get my act together, it just stung a little bit.

And I�m just a little worried about getting back to the states, where people are more judgmental of appearances. Here, it�s too hot to care most of the time. I�d hate to come back and have people who knew me before look at me and think �wow, look what having a kid did to HER!�

I guess I�ll enjoy my last few days of hiding in my house and celebrating having put on a bra for the day. And dreaming of poking that chick in the eye. She did have a kid a month before me, and hasn�t lost her baby weight, but has managed to gossip so much that she�s actually tearing up a family. I may not have make-up on, but I try to not make up lies up about people. It�s a hobby of mine.

Okay, that was petty. But I would like to poke her.

Onto loving my kid for the day. Loves y�all!!

SUPERCRACK out.


rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel