border

defies description, mostly because I'm lazy

November 30, 2006 at 5:46 p.m.

Getting a 7 �week-old to bed� oh the joy. Lately I�ve become worried about a pacifier addiction, which can wake her up at night in hysterics until it gets put back in. I try to calm her without it, but after 20 solid minutes of crying while I hold her, rock her, sing to her, and generally pretend to be nowhere near the end of my rope . . . the pacifier gives me at least a little rest.

2 nights ago we let her cry for about 10 minutes and then Jared popped it in, and she was so tired from the howling that she slept all night. So we tried it again last night, but after 20 minutes there was little rest to be had.

�Only a girl could cry this much without a reason.�

This quote is why Jared is NOT the mama.

&%$&^$#%^$#^%$#&^$&^$&^%$&^%^#&^$&^$&^$&^%$&^$%&^%

So in my efforts to feel less isolated from the world, I�ve taken downloading music I like that I forgot that I like and that I also left at home in my boxes of CDs.

First on the list was �Here Comes the Sun� by the Beatles � my favorite band and my favorite song of all time. I play it for Solei every morning to cheer up my spirits, no matter how tired I am. I named her �sun� because I knew this would be tough � and I hoped she�d shine into my life despite the hardships like a ray of light through the clouds in a storm. And she does, and when she doesn�t, it helps to be able to call her �my sunshine� and remind myself that she is just that.

So the other songs I have been collecting are �Sunrise� by Norah Jones � ah, such a lovely way to wake up to. �You Are the Sunshine of My Life,� good ol� Stevie Wonder. �Walkin� on the Sun� by Smash Mouth � I spill insanely *heart* the organ in this � it�s not uplifting, but it says Sun, right? And I found a ska version of �Walking on Sunshine� � I love the KC and the Sunshine Band version, and this is just as tasty.

So what sun-shiny songs do y�all know that I could add to my mix? (Smed, I�m looking in your direction;)

%^$#^%$#^%$#^%$#^%$#^%$#^%#$#^%$#^%$#^$%

Muito obrigada for such sweet notes and e.mails yesterday! I�m much more sore than I was (this has to do something with the whole being insanely out of shape thing too) and I appreciate your support on the whole music thing� I knew this was going to be a big side effect of moving to Brasil pregnant, and leaving my band behind. I love Solei, I just wish I could get a hold of this mothering thing (and I wasn�t tied down to nursing) so I could get out and play in a group somewhere before I forget everything.

And chalk this up to the WOW file� my mom revealed something in a very interesting and supportive e.mail this morning that I want to share � and yes, apparently SHE cares if I continue playing after teaching me violin from age 3, driving me to lessons all over town, youth orchestras, and flying me all over the country for festivals and camps � and even being the bass player when we didn�t have one � and accompanying me on piano at auditions (she�s got MAD skills, yo), recitals and everywhere else on the planet. So here was a potion of the letter � something I had never known before:

**
p.p.s. Perhaps you remember that Papa gave me a gift with the birth of each of my children: Rhys - 2 dozen red roses; Quinn - a watch; Reva - season theater tickets; Dallin - a new violin case. This last one was hard on me. I remember my sister was visiting when Dallin came home and I was bleeding badly [had to go back in the hospital for overnight surgery to stop it]. She came into the bedroom and found me crying and asked me why. It was because Papa had given me a violin case for a violin that I would never play again. Right. I never played it well, anyway; but I had steadily played 2nd violin with the Kirkwood Symphony through all my pregnancies and I had about 25 students...violin and piano. A 4th kid can kinda overwhelm a gal. But it all worked out.
**

Wow. I had no idea my mom had played in the symphony � and it can amaze me how much we have in common. I'm really kind of speechless here. I�m so blessed to have an example like her.

SUPERCRACK was. Is. Will be.

(oooh, hey by the way - I'm trying a new comments provider - use the first comments link and not the second and let's see how it goes!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel