border

empowerment here!!

October 22, 2002 at 8:41 a.m.

wooooo!!! Empowerment, thy name is REVA!

I've had this nasty transcription assignment due for weeks and I was too afraid to touch it... but since it's due today, I had no choice, oh poor Reva...

And how do you transcribe a jazz violin solo when you don't have a working CD player??

*transcribing is when you listen to some music and then write it down, all by ear. It's very difficult and even more difficult when it's a jazz solo because the notes can go by reaaaaal fast-like and it's SO HARD to catch 'em with your ear... luckily I have a BA in violin and I was trained to do this sort of thing, but it doesn't make it any easier*

*did you notice I just let it drop that I have a BA? heh. I'm so cool.*

Anywho, by some freak luck, I got my CD Rom to start working and my bro Quinn helped me by-pass what wasn't working in the system. THEN by another fluke, I happened upon a program my dad put on my computer that you can punch a song into it then loop whatever sections you want at WAY below normal speed with the pith staying the same! It was a program designed for losers like me who can't transcribe fast notes!!!!!!!

IS ANYONE AS EXCITED ABOUT THIS AS MUCH AS I AM?????

I know Loren wasn't, poor thing doesn't get to sleep because I keep him on the phone at freakish hours all the time and he zonked while I was trying to explain at 1:30am (his time) why this was the most incredible thing that has EVER HAPPENED EVER.

I am not a music geek. I'm jsut pumped I got my assignment done. I feel so empowered and ready to start practicing again. I am woman, hear me roar!!

So yeah, I'm freaking excited. I am a maaaasters student. We can figure this junk out ourselves! Oh, and after 30 minutes of screaming at my printer this morning, I patched in the right cords and got my assignment to print out.

I don't know what I could do at this moment that could top how cool I feel. I feel all.. responsible, indepentant, smart... and my lip gloss is making me feel frisky, but that's another problem entirly. I should porbably switch to something with a matte finish... heehee....

It's like when I went to college for the first time and woke up puking one randome morning (excuse the graphic example). but whenever I threw up at home, mommy came in an cleaned me up and made me feel better.

The first time I bowed to the porcelin god in my dorm room at a random 3am, I cried a little (we all do), then I cleaned myself up, washed my face, changed into some snugglier jammies and got back into bed.

I felt so good about myself! I could take care of myself! I felt so good I couldn't ever get back to sleep.

Call me weird. I just love taking care of the Reva.

It's odd to have a boy around who want to help you, and given a very nasty situation I had with a controlling guy a few years ago, I don't let anyone in close enough to know what I need.

Exept loren somehow finds a way to give me space and be caring at the same time.. that's new.

Enough about the dreamiest boy in the western hemisphere - back to meeee. I DID IT!!! WOOHOO!!! I transcribed a Turtle Island solo allll byyyy myyyyself!

SUPERCRACK realizes she may seem a little dorky about this, but she dinna care. she can transcribe like a big girl now!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel