border

t-day and babies

November 26, 2005 at 9:46 a.m.

I survived my first Thanksgiving away from home!!! Yes, I know I've lived away from "home" in Colorado since 1997, but I've gone home every single year. Heck, last year I took my fiance along and it went just perfectly! But this year, I spent it out here with friends and family. No skiing. Tragic, really.

No, I'm kidding - it's just the way Thanksgiving is supposed to be - with people you love and people you don't even know yet gathered around a monsterous feast to celebrate that life is pretty much awesome. We were invited over to our friend Julie's place - she's the daughter of the man "Dixie" at his funeral for. She gets a kick out of that, she does:) Gotta love the south!

The day befooore T-day though, Jared and I headed to Ft. Benning in Columbus because MatMunch graduated from Army Ranger school!! It was about a 3hour drive and Jared wasn't sure if my li'l Honda would make it, but it was totally worth it because we got to see stuff blown, people jumping out of helicopters, a watermelon totally destroyed. Those Army dudes put on a good show, they do!

So we had a houseguest of Mat that night until he flew homw the next day the surprise his fam in Colorado. I get so giddy when I have friends come visit! We have good friends here - but there's something magical about one of my friends from a former life coming to visit me in all my "I live in Atlanta with a HUSBAND!"-ness. It's quite the change from Revas of old, it's for sure. Even Mat commented on how happy I am. I'm just dagnabbed happy all the time now, dagnabit!

And zeen on Friday night, Jared and I started a family tradition. Well, it's a continuing of an old one, where we have in many years past, had our friend Hiro join my family in Colorado for Thanksgiving. And the day after Thanksgiving, he makes this gigantic sushi feast for everyone. So as this was my first Thanksgiving away from home, I needed at least one tradition to stay (even though the tradition of the pearl onions seems to have gone the way of the dodo:( ) so that was ours! We invited a bunch of our friends over and we made sushi, dagnabit! And what's sushi without... fondue!! I don't know why or how those seems to fit together so perfectly, but they do. We had such a blast!! Our friends even all brought gifts - I didn't know that was required!! And they were sooo awesome - they brought flowers and sushi dishes and a tree of rosemary - mmm, it smells so good! it was my first sucessful dinner party since Texas. Yup, over 3 years ago.

So it totally rocked and I was the happy.

Annnnd - I'm having a really tough time finishing this darn entry! I've ben typing it on and off for 3 days! It's just sad, really. Well, in the time I've been typing this, I became an aunt!! My brother Quinn and his loverly wife Megan added Teancum Quinn to their family:) We call him Teaq for short, but odds are this kid will NOT be short. Both of his parents are over 6 feet!

So, in honor of having a new kid in town and since I need to hit the submit button and get this danged entry DONE with, here's a game to keep y'all occupied:) Prepare to get sucked in!


Add Games To Your MySpace | Music Video Codes

Supercrack has a PS - when mom called up and told us about the baby, she was all excited about every single thing - including that he was able to eat already - she said that she had to teach her babies how to suck on the bottle but thiis kid already knew how - and Jared looks at me and says - "you she's saying the kid sucks?" Okay, we're bad but amused with ourselves at any rate:)

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel