border

an amazing cultural blangblang

May 13, 2002 at 6:32 p.m.

Saturday night I was sooo tall.

And sooo happy.

Urmi's dad is a tabla teacher - it's a type of Indian drum. He had a recital on Suturday and I jumped at the chance to go listen, because thanks to George Harrison and Drs. Bush and Brothers, I am a huge fan of Indian music.

I've jammed with her daddy before - with me on guitar, so he knows I have decent ear skillz and he invited me to bring my violin. Why? Who knew, but I never give up the opportunity to do something new and enlightening.

The first half of the recital was incredible - I was sitting there on the floor with Urmi and Hima, both dressed to the hilt in their Indian dress clothes, just soaking in the beutiful and complex rhythms. Then we ate dinner - all traditional Indian home-made food. I was in seventh heaven.... but it got better !

FOr the second half with the advanced students, he asked me to come up with my violin...! I sat up there next to these amazing musicians, they mic-ed me and her dad gave me simple melodic riffs to vamp as the tabla players played.. it was unbelieveable!! I thought I was going to start floating up - I was there, playing thses beautiful tonalities, surrounded in this music that is so different and exciting to me - and they let me be there with them!!!!!

Her daddy announced that I was their daughter now so I had to play, just like in my family. I thought my face would slowly harden into perma-grin, right then that night.

Everyone around me is getting sick of me talking about this ad nauseum but...wowowowowow. And I also had an epiphany about Indian culture and Urmi and my own culture when it comes to dating and those things. I love understanding her better.

and I realllly love my life.

)(*&*^%^%#^$&^*&*^(&(&^*&*

i have pretty hair now:) so does Marcy.

She got a cut - I have streaks of blonde on me.

So wacky am I. ANd so freaking lazy. This kitchen and my bedroom will be cleaned tonight, even if I don't sleep. I'm okay with that. BAD REVA!!!

SUPERCRACK is layin' down the law...

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel