border

Yay friends!! MAD ABOUT GOVERNMENT

September 03, 2005 at 7:10 a.m.

So it's early, but I simply cannot sleep so I thought I'd throw a shout out there and let y'all know I'm alive and kicking.

Wednesday night we got a wonderful surprise in the form of our friend Pascal coming to visit us - he lives up in Portland and was deployed to Atlanta on Monday but by a delightful glitch in the system, we have him to hang out with us for a few days, yay!

And as I type this, Urmi and her hubby are sleeping just 2 floors below me!!!! Yes, my favorite Indians are in town for the night on their way to a li'l vacation from South Carolina to Florida. Visiting bed and breakfasts and relaxing and seeing ME!! WOOHOO!!!!

They got in last night and we laughed and kept the boys up way past their bedtime. If it's even possible, I think Urmi has become funnier, louder and even more beautiful. I'm blown away by it all and I love her husband for loving her so much:)

So it's 7am on a Saturday morning and I'm wide awake because one of my favorite people on the WHOLE planet is in my house and I want to be up on the off chance that she wakes up and I'm all giddy and such. I tried to say my prayers last night but all I could manage to say was "YAAYYY!!!! Thank you for Urmi!!!"

I am a lucky, lucky girl:)

*&^%*&%$^&%#&^$#&$^$@$#^%$*&%$*&%#&%$*&^$*&*&^*&

WARNING!!! I feel VERY strongly about the situation in the south right now and I needed to blow off some steam - so if you think the federal governemnt is responding appropriately, then you might not want to read this, and if you do, respect that it's my opinion and this being America, I'm glad I'm entitled to that.

read at your own risk...

I've been glued to the TV all week about this hurricane and all the horrific after effects of it all... and also being in contact with a FEMA employee in my house, I've heard it all, and I'm mad.

The governemnt knew what was going to happen - they had computer models all tell them it was going to be a massive disaster, but it takes this long for them to react?? The FEMA director Michael Brown is an idiot, by the way. I don't care much for his boss at this point, but he had no idea the conditions were so bad in New Orleans, and after ALL THE WARNING, our president was still on vacation when it struck, without deploying any help until it was too late.

This is disgusting. Brown's JOB is to react, and he did not execute the resources needed when they were needed, even though that's his FREAKING JOB. The FEMA people had a plan in place last year of how to effectively respond, and they ignored everything given because the plans were written by contractors - contractors who care and gave months of their time to help, but still the stupid federal government had to ignore it and decide they could do it themselves because they are the federal government, doncha know and go and spend astronomical amounts of money on things that they don't need instead of reading the FACTS and learning from them.

I was having a hard time being okay with other things about the government, but this is absolutely the last straw. These people who are being left all night - yes, STILL 2 thousand left in the Superdome as I type this Saturday morning after they checked in fore safety a WEEK AGO after everyone else has gotten help days before - are taxpayers who are funding the war in Iraq, yet they are getting the most subpar help imaginable and are dying because of our selfish government.

WOW, I've never ranted like that before... but it's impossible to see what is going on and keep calm. This is beyond disgusting. So many people are stepping up to help - our church delpoyed help and convoys from Salt Lake on Tuesday - but the one place that these people need - isn't there for them.

They are tired, hungry, dirty, confused, and they need help NOW. Imagine if our president had to sit in a line for DAYS without a toilet, without food, without a shower, and no word on when help would arrive, while he'd seen loved ones die firsthand and wondered where the missing were. You tend to get desperate and it brings out the absolute worst in a person. I ache for them - I don't know how they've all survived this far.

So I apologize for the rant, but I ache too much right now to be quiet.

So that's SUPERCRACK's vent, anyway.


rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel