border

mourning

August 30, 2005 at 7:19 a.m.

Way too much in my head today. Some wonderful, but more of the not-so also.

On Thursday I'm playing violin in south Georgia for a lady at church. Her father passed away and he was a fiddle player so they wanted me to play some fiddle music for the service and viewing and such. I'm happy to do it, that's why iIhave this gift I suppose, it's so I can help others with my music because heaven knows I have few other skills.

It feels so good to be able to give. It just puts me in a sober mood, doing this for my friend and knowing what she's going through right now.

Then last night I get a phone call. Loren and I had been playing phone tag and his voice had seemed upset in his messages, but we finaally connected and he told me he'd been to Texas last week for his sister's funeral.

Whitney was on her way to college for the first time, when the driver fell asleep at the wheel and the car flipped. She was just 19. Ug. First Sabrina looses her sister this summer and then Loren. He sounded as stoic and analytical as ever.

But he loved her more than any brother I think I've ever known. He was so proud of her as she grew up, she was insanely beautiful and getting more so every day. Every time we'd talk, Loren would talk in awe of how strong and amazing his sister was and how he wanted to protect her from the world.

I just ache so much for him and his family. We didn't always see eye-to-eye, but Whitney always found a way to. I just ache.

On Thursday I will play my heart out for a man I didn't know, a man who lived his life fully, had a family, and who was sick and ready to leave when his time came. We are celebrating his life, not mourning it.

But when a young friend dies, I find myself not able to celebrate them. I'm too busy mourning me. Mourning the countless people her sparkle could have touched.

I can't find a way to celebrate.

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel