border

listening skills..

July 09, 2004 at 1:06 a.m.

I'm up way too late.

Somehow, I got the urge to watch/listen to my senior and masters recitals. Now, I'm not a perfect violinist by any means, an sometimes I get so critical of my off-tune notes and missed phrasings that I don't want to experience recordings to myself, but tonight I did.

I want to cry.. it was really an amazing feeling. I played my senior recital 2 years ago, but it feels like eons. I worked so hard for that day, and it was a beautiful experience.

Watching the video of the final piece on my masters recital was the oddest feeling. The first movement I'm still stiff, but I have determination. Around minute 7, my crazy uncle started taping my ankle ad such. what a weirdo, but the second movement I begin to really smile. It's such a rmantic, beutiful melody.... and then, somewhere after minute 15, it's the last movement. Just before it begins, I smile - I know this is the last major bit to play for the masters degree - I am loose free, and happy the entire movement. It's so interesting to watch.

The, I get to play Cascade... my present to myself, a bit of jazz with my good friend Jimmy Dunn. I look completely different, my arms are free, my body is loose and I can't stop moving I'm so happy. The very end is such a release.. I'm so surprised and happy. I DID IT.

I think... a year before I performed that, I couldn't even pick up a violin without pain. The school didn't communicate with me and I lost my scholarship. Months before, my beloved violin and bow were stolen and I had to deal wth it and find a new instrument. The day before, I found out my boyfriend didn't want to celebrate the day with my family and me and would rather go snowboarding, and I had to break things off so I wouldn't be emotional and upset while I played.

But I did it. I'm so grateful... so blessed.

This is just for me to ponder on, but I know someone is looking out for me and loves me. Wow, I'm such a lucky girl. Or blessed, rather.

Now I'm listening to Ready. I may not be the best, but there's some music in me that gots to come out.

In a week, I head to Atlanta. And then back to Denver and then back to Atlanta again. Adventurous? Maybe, but if I really was, maybe I wouldn't be so scared.

SUPERCRACK is going to do it. No question.

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel