border

pretty much perfect

October 26, 2006 at 5:24 p.m.

We went to our first pediatrician appointment today, and it turns out our daughter is perfect. Perfect everything. I was pretty sure of this already I must admit, but this really capped it off for me. And he said it was okay that she sleeps 6-7 hours at night!! That dang BabyW1se book made me so freaking guilty about everything, I was doing everything wrong but it seemed to be making her happy, well BAH on you, professionals.

She�s not dead yet, that�s a good sign, but I think I should stop reading parenting books. They just make me have panic attacks.

Oh, he also said it wasn�t normal to have her nurse for an hour and a half. I thought so too, but the little leech wouldn�t get offa me! Apparently she�s using me as a human pacifier. So I got out the real thing and I�ve been jamming it into her mouth, it seems to work okay. Of course, she prefers to nurse. And who wouldn�t prefer that, I ask you?

Ahem. Moving on.

I�ve been trying desperately to play with her,. Mostly just singing and moving her limbs around to the music, and shoving bright objects (and my own face) into hers in the desperate attempt to be noticed, but so far it�s all up to her where she wants to look. I know she can�t focus yet, but dagnabit I want attention!!

Anywho, I�m trying to remember what my mom did with us as kids, how she played. Most of it involves bouncing of some sort, or swinging.

I got puked on 3 times yesterday. I think I will just have to wait for the bouncing stage. Dagnabit.

^%$^%$#^%^&%$*&^%$*^#^%#^$#&#^&^&%$&^#&

Jared sent me an e.mail yesterday. One of those ones you don�t get very often, but you read over and over again. It�s been a very difficult few weeks, heck, months, but they�ve brought us closer than we could have ever imagined. If you�ll remember, I married the guy 5 months after meeting him. It was a leap of faith, to say the least. We were retarded about each other, and it felt right.

It hasn�t been easy, but I lucked out. It could have been a disaster, but the man I married so quickly is as committed as committed can be about being a good husband and now father. As hard as that first year was, he was always trying, always stretching his patience muscles. And good golly this year� getting pregnant, laid off, separated for 2 months, moving to a very uncertain situation in Brasil and a newborn� well, what doesn�t kill you makes you stronger, right?

I won�t divulge the contents of the e.mail� they are so precious and sweet, they are just for me. One part I will share though, made me feel better than I can say. He told me he knew I never really wanted to be a mom, but that now that I was, I was one of the best ones he�d ever seen.

Hearing the father of your child tell you that you are a great mom means the world, but having him acknowledge that this wasn�t a goal of mine and one of the reasons that it�s been so difficult for me to transition into this phase was the sweetest gift he could give me. It�s so wonderful to be understood, as well as appreciated. I didn�t plan on this, but as long as I�m here, I�ll try to do a bang-up job.

Starting with having a little more patience with that bouncing thing.

SUPERCRACK is stationary.. for nowwwww.

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel