border

arm pain

October 24, 2002 at 4:15 p.m.

people are

odd. Thanks Candis:)

@!$#@#$#%$^%$&^$^%#^$@^#@%$#^%&$^$%&$#@&^$&^#%

bleeeeegggghhhh.

I feel so drained. Did you know violins could hurt you? Foul mistress!!

The Bolshoi Ballet from Moscow is touring and they're in Arimazona. THe ASU orchestra is playing for them this weekend - the ballet is a little known "Bayadere" or something.

I "get" to play it. They'd take away my scholarship if I told them I would rather eat my own foot than play in a pit orchestra.

It's a wonderful opportunity, the conductor is here from Russia and it pads my resume. But.. dagnabit, it HURTS!

One of the most common injuries but most dangerous for a string player comes from the stress of the arms... I used to only have back problems, but now I have to play so much with a new technique, pain is strting to sear through my arms and wrists if I have to play too musch without a break.

And this ballet really hurts my arms because I don't get to stop. For 3 hours, there are no movements I don't play in. The exact techique is difficult for a 2nd violin player because there's a lot of suspending the arms in air for hours because the parts are so thin and polka oompa-like.. it's hard to explain, but hard to do too...

Yesterday after a 3 hour orchestra rehearsal I tried to take a violin lesson, but I ended up crying through most of it because of some personal issues and the fact that I wanted to play for my wonderful teacher sooo much but my body wouldn't let me.

I have 4 hour rehearsal tonight until 10:30pm, one tomorrow for the same, performances all weekend and Saturday I teach all day before I go to the ballet.

pheeeewwwww. I am not cut out for this. I don't want to be cut out for this. I don't like pits. I don't like doing what every one else is doing. I want to SEE the balltet, not be stuck playing in pain in a hole underneath it!

I called Loren after all I'd been through yesterday, physical and emotional, and cried like a baby, issues up the wazzoo and the like. It is too amazing that there's this boy out there that understands and listens and even though he knows all the reasons why I shouldn't be allowed to be a functioning member of society... he still loves me. I just don't get it.

!#$@#^%#^%#$&^%#&^%#%@$%#^#^%#$@#$%$%$&^%$^$^$&^$&^

I don't know why, but I've never really tripped out so much about going home for the holidays. But this year....!!!

Urmi is coming for Thanksgiving, Hiro might be too, and over Christmas and New Years, matMunch is going to be home from the army and we're going to get ski and swing dancing and my family is going to be in town too and I'm really hoping Pete hops up the COlorado and Loren is probably going to come up and do a meet the 'rents thing...

This is all that keeps me going sometimes. I miss my friends and I gottagotta see them.

I have to take a nap... less than 2 hours till rehearsal... what a career, huh?

SUPERCRACK fidZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel