border

nesting fool

September 13, 2006 at 2:02 p.m.

Okay, so call it nesting, whatever, but as much as I aDORE my violin girl layout, I needed to change things today. I don't feel much like the violin girl lately. And since I can't officially nest in my nest because with 3 official weeks to go until the baby comes I'm STILL living in a hotel - I'll nest on my blog:)

Oh, and also in an attempt to make comments work here (which I'm pretty sure they do now, woot woot) I deleted my pretty pretty layout by accident. And here in my hotel room with my lil laptop, no Photoshop or Frontpage, I'm at the mercy of what I could find - and this was too darn cute to pass up.

Hope you enjoy it!

&^%$&^$#%$@#^$#@^%$#@^%$#&#^$#&^#%$#^$

You people up in the Northern Hemisphere don't know how good you gots it. All of your "Ah! How I love fall!!"

I am possibly the biggest fan of the autumn. I get all squiggly in my tummy, I love the brisk air, decorating the house will all kinds fall colored leaves and Halloween-y type things and candy corn dishes all over. My mom knew how to do fall... yuuuummmmm.

But having just survived an Atlanta summer, I've moved to the Southern Hemisphere (our motto:"Our Hips Move Cooler Than Your Hips") at the end of winter here - which, coincidentaly, is mostly like a Colorado summer - and we are gearing up for the warm seasons here. In a house with no AC, btw.... I'm hoping and praying it's cool in there - it's all tile so that sounds not sweltering, right??? And oh joy, I get to learn how to nurse for the first time in a Brasilian summer. Woot woot.

So all you happy people with your "Oh I love the fall!"ness should take a moment and remember some of us don't get that beautimus choice of having a fall in this, I have dubbed, The Year Of Summer. Funny, I don't really dig winter after a while, but I loooves me some fall.

Wouldn't it be cool if we could travel the globe chasing fall????

hmmmm... getting ideas...

*&^%&*^&^$#%^$#^%$#&%$#^%$@^%$#^%$#^%#$

So yesterday was the anniversary of Jaguariuna our future address and the present address of Jared's company, so he got the day off work, which was fabulous, as Jared needed some time to recouperate still from being sick all weekend. But we did have some energy to go shopping and get some things we need for the house - washing machine and dryer, beds, dining room table - and the most comfortable couch EVER. Which is saying something because I haven't experienced couches as uncomfortable as I have in Brasil.

We did some serious wheeling and dealing though.. well, Jared did. I think we should never go shopping again - where negotiations are involved - in a place where people can understand what I'm saying. I'm so useless, I make jokes and try to difuse what I find uncomfortable situations, and Jared, with his negotiating and cheapskate skills, gets nowhere. But yesterday, since the Portuguese speaking peoples could understand my repeated cries of "I want it give them anything they ask for!!!" Jared got all kinds of deals.

And my nesting urges feel all sorts of appeased now that we have at least a few things for the house. We even found a crib for $60!! It's kind of hard to buy things for the nursery when I feel like we won't be here in a year or so. That I'll have to be leaving it behind - that's tough. Especially when things are so expensive here - anything not made in Brasil is taxed like CRAZY and anything made in Brasil is just as expensive.

There's this internal voice though - that says "IF YOU DON'T BUY EVERYTHING YOU SEE WITH A ROSE AND A BALLERINA ON IT, YOU'RE GOING TO BE A TERRIBLE MOTHER." I'm trying to ignore that voice... instead, I'm craving a huge stack of construction paper, scissors, scotch tape, markers and glitter. I think I can decorate for her, right? She won't even notice most of it, but it will make me feel so GOOD to be productive. I'm not creative or crafty, but I'm gonna make an exception for baby. Good golly I miss Hobby Lobby!

OH - and in a crazy semi-related to baby thing - we had an ultrasound yesterday and found out something crazy. Not about baby, but about me - I have TWO speens! One is underdeveloped and small, but there's TWO in there! How cool is that - I don't even know what ONE spleen does!! After 26 years on this planet, they finally find out the truth about me. I really AM an alien!

SUPERCRACK is twice as cool!


rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel