border

songs that tell me something..

August 02, 2002 at 8:45 a.m.

hmmmmm....

what to write about....

nothing of interest happened yesterday whatsoever.

Except I sat on top of a 10 foot inflatable anaconda pool toy for 45 minutes today trying to deflate it. That thing takes planning... and at least an hour to blow it up. And you know what?

IT'S WORTH IT!!!!!

Dang I love Andy the Anaconda. Sexy little bugger.

Annie made me a copy of the Norah Jones CD and I CAN'T STOP LISTENING TO IT.

Although, the process I've gone thru is a bit odd...

You know, I went to school with Ms. Jones at North Texas for 2 years before she left for New York. Heck, I didn't know her or anything, but dagnabit we had the same theory course, my claim to fame I suppose:)

But at first when I started listening to it, I'd start crying and have to shut it off. The jazz reminded me of my friends in Texas, and the softness - the confidence of the music would make me think too much. There's no fear, no fast paced "lookit me! does this make you happy?!" (like most of my songs:) and it's thoughtful... just too thoughtful.

Well, I overcame that hurdle and now I can't get anough of it. It's so different and the writing is so unique I want dissect it and learn from it. Tasty tasty.

And instead of these soft love songs turning me into a hopeless romantic, it's doing quite the opposite.

You'd think it would, because that is certainly in my nature and in my past, but..... you date enough thoughtless guys, it gets beaten out of you. I have no desire for romance. It just makes me nervous - thinking "what do they want now? am I supposed to be impressed that the big dinner he offered - nay, BEGGED to cook for Valentine's Day consists of chips and subway sandwiches he bought from New York Sub???"

No, as I listen to these songs, it makes me want to learn to write them better. I think it's helping.. I never think my songs are any good, but I have this drive, so maybe there's a purpose. Maybe someday I will come up with THE song and that's what it was all about...

And it reminds me of all the time and patience it takes to be in love. When your head is clear, you can look at the situation and see there's just not enough there to warrant all you put into it. Ahhh - but when a cute boy slips his arm around your waist, your head is instantly muddied and the dumbest things just seem like the best idea ever!!

I won't elaborate, but your fair princess has been a dope on more than one occasion:)

Casey has offered to take all the potential men of my hands these next few years and I say boo-ya. I just found out I DON'T have to write a thesis and that bothers me because now I'll have slightly more free time than I planned so there's less excuses to not date but... I've still got a boat load of 'em, so I'm safe;)

!@#$!$#@#$@$%$#%^%$$##@$$#@#$#$$%^$#%^$#$%#^%$%^

Well, if all goes to plan, Annie and Pete and I are goona be spending a few days in Salt Lake City next week. Oooo, we get to see the tabernacle and the conference hall and that cool movie "Testament" (still gotta get tix!) and the visitors center and... oooo, the mountains. The pretty pretty mountains.

Plus I get to see Pete and he gets to meet Annie. It's always nice when my friends get to meet each other. Of course it's not ALways a good thing (winkwink to MatMunch, who dated 2 of my friend, the scoundrel!!) but it's always a blast.

When Urmi met MattKey it was quite the occasion (heehee) so I think when Urmi ever meets Annie(this winter, oh please oh please??) the stars will align and something cosmic will happen. Golly, maybe I'd better keep 'em away from each other for safety reasons - the universe can't handle it!!

My friends are all over the freaking world. It makes for great vacations (still must go see Paul singing in the London Symphony Chorus!) but a lonely Reva sometimes. Now, what if I make friends in Arimazona?? I'll have so many friends then I'll never go home again!

(the phone company just called and wanted to know if anyone in my family wanted a job... um... random...)

so, I'm excited to see Pete and do the Utah thing. Any sugggestions from you folks in the SLC area on what we should go do? I'm trying to plan it but I'm not sure where things are and where some waterfalls are or something... Pete's a photo-buff and wants to take plenty of pictures of beautiful places. PLEASE advise!!!!

SUPERCRACK is wearing her new reading glasses and feels quite studious. studius. studiuhhhs. Okay, now she's feeling like a goob:)

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel