border

ode to my mommy

October 25, 2001 at 8:35 a.m.

Go ahead tell me you think you have the best mommy.

And then go on thinkin' it. Oh, I know everyone says their mom is the most incredible blahblhablah but I know my mommy is the best.

She's sacrificed and done things that no normal person would even consider just to help her family. What about taking a graveyard shift at an airport because her oldest kid needed extra money for school and help while he was trying to do the same job.... while at the SAME time getting recertified so she could go back and start teaching again after a 6 year break while she raised her kids???

And that's just the tip of the iceberg. What about a woman who will go with her sister, her 21 year old daughter and 19 year old son to a place named "Water World" and get totally trashed by hidden wave pools and bigbig slides and never once complain? Grown up mommies usually sit by making sure thier hair looks perfect. My mommy gets down and dirty,

The woman was a terrible skier for years but has become pretty dang good so she could ski along with her kids and husband.

My mom doesn't have a helmet head. Her wardrobe is loud. Her knowledge of art, world and music history is unbelievable. She dances like a pro, she's the best elementary music teacher the world has ever seen, and she never has bowed to doing what people thought she should. She's decorated her house ecclectic, and raised her children to be themselves.

She taught me how to watusi in the kitchen. I've seen her stand up and energize people by jumping around and singing at the top of her lungs.

She thinks I'M too normal sometimes.

And she celebrates me. She knows what a crummy person I can be (because I've been the worst to her) and what a crummy violinist I can be, but she still believes me and celebrates the fact that I was born to her and my family.

She's raised me to know exactly where I came from, how to find out why I'm here, and where I'm going. When I've been at the absolute bottom, she's helped me learn and know that I am an important Daughter of God.

She gave up a few dreams to have a family. But she's taught my brothers so much, I she knows she has been important. My 3 brothers have all received their Eagle Scout awards, and have served or are serving honorable missions for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.

But while all of this was going on, she has crept into bed with me or let me do the same and has rubbed my tummy, dried my tears and listened... and we're not talking at 9 years old, we're talking a few months ago. Poor Dad has had to sleep in my rom a few times because Mom and I have fallen asleep all over their bed.:)

But I guess what makes me so proud of my mommy is how weird she is - her taste in music, art, people... she's so delightfully not boring and loud. And quiet. And insane. And sane.

I just love my mommy too much. She is so incredible but she makes me feel like I'm a princess. How does a mommy do that?

SUPERCRACK is goona go call mommy...

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel