border

And the answer is...

May 10, 2006 at 6:51 a.m.

Picture this.

I'm teaching a violin lesson last night at my home - I've got a room in the basement I use for a studio on Tuesdays. My adorable 6th grade student and I are deeply engrossed in the finer points of Handel's Hunter's Chorus when a breathless Jared appears at the doorway at the top of the stairs.

"I thought you'd want to know... we just got an e.mail."

I froze. "You mean - THE e.mail?? What did it.."

"Everything. They gave us everything we wanted."

"Everything??? Even appliances???"

"Everything - it's all in there." There was a look on his face that I couldn't refuse. He was so excited, so happy. Time took a break for a bit as I just stared in shock.

My student's mom piped in - "Are you alright? Is she going to cry?"

I turned to my confused student and his mom slowly.

"Um... you're going to need to find another teacher. I'm moving to Brazil."

__________________________

By the way, it's really early right now. I can't sleep. I've been up since 5, and I can hardly believe I got to bed at all. There's so many things to think about.

I mean, first off, I have no idea of a timeline yet. I know that they want Jared soon when the factory is running - they are shooting for June, but I can't be there until July.

I'm getting Portuguese lessons as part of the deal, but it'll be hairy until then. I can't rememeber any words in Portuguese except for avacado (abacaxi I think... well, I know how to say it anyway).

They pay our housing, our car, even travel back to the states no matter how we leave the company - transfer, fired, quit - we won't be stranded, it's in our contract.

And that appliances thing? They're more expensive there - and there are some things that their kitchens don't come with, like stoves, dishwashers, and washer and dryers - you have to supply them all yourself. So the company is. I was shocked they agreed to that, it seems like an easy thing to say "wha? No, that's where you gone to far" thing, but nope, we got it.

Oh, and I am giving birth sometime in the near future. Gotta find a doc and convince them that no, just because 80% or hospital patients in Brazil get c-sections, I am not one of them.

Have to find a house, sell this one, pack our lives into a 20 foot storage crate, figure out how my student loans will still be paid, buy as much baby stuff as I can here (it's expensive in Brazil)... and worst yet...

tell my band. I'm going to be crucified.

My mother is already horrified, but I expected that. My students are going to kill me... honestly, I'm going to make a lot of people upset with this adventure of ours.

Today is a looong day of teaching. I get to tell all these kids to find a new teacher this summer. I'm going to get creamed.

But Jared's so happy. And it's good for us financially and for him, career-wise. I dunno, somehow, deep down, I always thought I'd live overseas. Never South America, but hey, I guess wherever God wants you, right?

SUPERCRACK is packing up shop...

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel