border

swimming in DeNile

August 07, 2006 at 1:58 p.m.

Okay. Making an entry because there is nothing to report. Really, something has happened, but it's also NOTHING at the same time so report away I will.

(by the way, my internet is STILL down and that's why I am a crummy person and don't comment as much as I should!)

Last week, I went ahead and e.mailed Jared's company. The HR department anyway - I just wanted to let them know what moving companies I'd talked to, why we needed to speed up the process, etc.

The next day, Jared gets a call from the guy who hired him, and apparently they are still keen on the idea of him not doing the job that he's doing (which he totally digs) but working a job he really doesn't like, but it's back in the states. They mentioned this option before, but he already turned it down. Living at home would be nice (or moving to Chicago... not the most appetizing though - I used to live there and I loved it, but the salary they'd offer and cost of living don't exactly add up) but I really love the job he has now. He loves it, and it's exactly in line with what he wants to be doing.

This company has given him the chance to reallllly beef up his resume becuase it's a big promotion... but they move so slow and it just doesn't matter to them that he's been away from his pregnant wife for 2 months, and they want him to stay longer, even though it would mean missing the birth. They aren't an American company (they aren't Brazilian either) and we're pretty close to getting fed up. His boss talks to his wife once a week and he doesn't care, it's a cultural thing I guess.

They had a meeting last night to discuss what to do with him - it's not that they don't want him, it's that 2 divisions are actually fighting over him, and I'm afraid that the wrong one might win. And here is is, Monday afternoon and still no word. It just doesn't occur to these people that we might have an opinion on this and need to know ASAP. We have to move or stay here and find a hospital!

So Jared bought a plane ticket home this Friday. He can legally do it since his paperwork is now all settled, and he can either finish getting his visa and move us, or stay here and find a new job.

I'm surprisingly calm about this. I'm less than 2 months away from giving birth and I have no insurance or CLUE about what is going to happen, but I'm just not freaked out at this present moment. I know that if we move, it will be fine. If we stay, it'll be fine because Jared is employable and American hospitals just don't look as scary.

Why don't I ever do anything easy?? Not complaining now, I am fine. I'm crashing at my in-laws and they have been AMAZING at distracting me and helping me feel good. I seriously lucked out in the in-law department. I'm so beyond excited to not be doing this pregnancy thing alone this weekend when Jared gets back (I have soooo many backrubs and foot rubs coming my way, dagnabit!) but feeling not so alone and having family around is the best blessing ever.

So THAT'S my big update o' nothing. Not crazy at all, is it???

SUPERCRACK is in denial. It's a lovely place:)

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel