border

airport scene

December 01, 2003 at 4:55 p.m.

I woke up early, but later than I had planned this morning and drove myself through insane traffic to the Phoenix airport. To hang out with Loren during his 2 hour layover here on his way back to Utah.

Part of me wondered if I should even go, but we're such good friends now and we talk so often that it just seemed odd not to. But we hadn't seen each other since the break-up almost a year ago, and there's always the questions that could arise...

It didn't seem odd to have him there next to me. We complained about family drama at Thanksgiving and teased each other and just relaxed. It seemed natural to be talking to my friend.

When it was time for him to go back through security and to his plane, we hugged quickly and said our polite hav-a-nice-day-s and I walked away. But I turned after a few steps and saw him scanning the crowd, trying to see me, but he couldn't. I just kept walking for a while more... then, I stopped and turned around and walked back to the spot I'd seen him last before he'd gotten in line, and called him on his cell phone.

"Hey, it's me - turn around!"

"Hi! What's up?"

And for the first time that morning, we really looked at each other. I couldn't bring myself to look at his eyes before. We were just quiet for a moment... I felt... something... and I said -

"Thanks. For everything."

"No Reva, thank you."

And suddenly for some reason I can't explain, I started crying. I waved at him slightly and walked away, still on the phone. I walked thought the airport crying, wondering what I was feeling and not able to hang up just yet...

"I love you," I said.

"I love you too."

pause....

"But not like that... that's gross."

He laughed and we wished each other well and then we hung up.

And all I could think while I was walking away was.. what a difference a year makes. And it was worth it. It really was. We'll always be the best of friends, we can't help that anymore, but sometimes it's not supposed to work out. And that's okay. Because it was worth it. I was really loved once in my life. And he let me go because he knew I could be happier, even though I didn't want to admit it.

Mat really was right. Love - real love, no matter what the outcome, is worth it.

Someone needs to make a freaking movie about me.

SUPERCRACK says Kiera Knightly should star as me!!!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel