border

left hook

March 31, 2006 at 8:07 a.m.

Everyone has one of those stories.

Jared's parents were so poor when they got married - and had him within the first year of marriage - and they slept in a twin bed with infant Jared in an apartment above a garage.

My friend Susan - now 62 - taught ballet classes out of her and her husband's garage when they married to support them while they were young.

Heartening sories - so sweet, so touching. Lots of adults have these heart warming stoies that make you smile but then there comes a time when you realize you are now married - when are you due for a story like this? Everyone has a story - are YOU too good for a story?

I'm realizing I'm not. Three months pregnant and Jared got laid off yesterday.

I reacted as best as I could. I cried a bit and then was just in a daze for the rest of the day. I knew things were going too smoothly - something was around the corner.

We're not destitute by any means - we have savings, I have an income and Jared has lots of leads and friends. He's confident things will be okay soon enough, and I want to believe him.

But there's always a chance that things could turn the corner for the bad and we could have a doozie of a story on our hands.

Does everyone have to a story?

We have health insurance until August - the baby is due in October, but Jared's not worried about getting a new job with benefits by then. Just me. This is the kind of thing grown ups have happen to them. I don't feel like one yet.

Ak.

^&%&^$^%$#%$#^$#^#^*^%$*^%#&%$#&^#^%#*^%$*^%$

I'm listening to a recording of my brother's junior recital. He had it Wednesday and my family got to be there - not me, but dad recorded it and posted it on the internet.

It amazes me - this guy can play. He can pay the violin like I never could - my younger bro. I love him so much and hearing him play - it's an insane feeling. He's playing the Tchaikovsky violin concerto... good gravy. I could never/will never be able to play it. Is there a bittersweet feeling there? There can't be, as much as I wish I could be selfish and think about me, I can't. He's the nicest person anyone would ever meet and it comes out in his playing.

Yo Yo Ma once said that you can't hide your personanlity in our playing - if you are selfish, it comes out. It's true - there's people who play just to hear themselves and it's so boring. Dallin (the wonderbrother) doesn't play for the audience or himself - he plays for the music.

I love the wonder of techology and being able to hear this. I miss him - a lot. He's one incredible brother. and musician.

Well, now he's done playing and I'm off to drown my sorrows in the eliptical machine. If I gotta have a story, might as well look good doing it.

SUPERCRACK.

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel