border

guess who!!

October 13, 2006 at 3:34 p.m.

Can't write much, it hurts to sit. Why must our fair heroine watch her sittng habits?

You got it, baby Solei made an entrance to the world Wednesday night! The labor was super fast, and Jared was/incredible as a labor coach, father, and most importantly, my best friend. I could NEVER have survived this without him!!

There's so much I want to say, but time may make me cut this short.... Thursday I had weird contractions all day long, and Jared was 2 hours away in Sao Paulo on business. The second he was done and back from his meetings, I knew it was time to go to the hospital. He was racing around like a maniac, and I was taking my sweet time because I figured labor lasted a long time, right?

We got to the hospital around 6, and after they checked me out, then checked me into my room, the contractions started getting more and more frequent and they sent me out for the epidural.

That might have been the scariest - because Jared had been there with me, doing my lamaze exercises and helping me cope through the contractions, but they wouldn't let him in the scary delivery room until they'd pricked and poked me a whole bunch, which, coincidentally, was the freakiest part for me because of my fear of needles and such, and here I was having HARD contractions just a minute or two apart, and everyone was yammering at me in Portuguese and I missed Jared so much!!

But, I got through it and he came on in. The next part was a blur, there was some pushing, there was some yammering, but mostly I just remember Jared never leaving my side, telling me how good things were going and how much he loved me. At one point I cried - I realized things were never going to me the same and if I didn't push, maybe just maybe they didn't have to, but he just held me and loved me through it. THe doctor said "Please - Jared and I and babye Solei need you to help us..." and I pushed. At 9:03pm, she came out, just as perfect as you can imagine.

Jared still didn't leave my side - even after the took her and made me sit in an infirmary for an hour - they told me they wouldn't let me leave until I regained feeling in my legs and I deserately flailed them, trying to show them that I could move, I just wanted to go see this creature that was now mine!!

And then they did:)

She sleeps a lot, nursing is very difficult and I'm in some serious pain - labor was so easy compared to recovery!! I'm working hard to not get too depressed and think of things just one minute at a time. It's so easy to get overwhelmed!

Pictures and Jared's commentary at our blogspot site. I need to go and try nursing her, but I wanted to get all this down before I forgot it. It was like at first sight, and as soon as I can figure some things out, I'll be head over heels. For now, I'm so grateful and blessed that she's here, she's okay, and that I have the most perfect-for-me husband to help me.

(oh, and Brasilian healthcare? Over the top! They are taking such good care of me, wowza!!)

SUPERCRACK is mommy!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel