border

sounds of success

March 16, 2006 at 7:53 a.m.

Hello?

Anyone here?

is this thing even on??

I just got back from a mini road trip last night - Jared and I headed out to Texas to spend some looovely time with Urmi and her man (the dude was shirtless at the wedding ((Hindi ceremony))- and all I have to say is my Urmi is oooone lucky girl;) and head down past Houston to a li'l town called Woodville to see Jared's Grandpa and (I'm not making this up) Uncle Jimbo and Aunt Wendy and then head back to Georgia - but with a stowaway! We stole Danielle and took her home with us!!!

It makes sense, she's an Irish flute player, I'm in a celtic band and this weekend is St. Patty's day - so we brought her along to bask in the awesomeness!

OOoo - and just before we left Georgia - we celebrated our CD release party!!!

I'm on a CD!!! It's shrinkwrapped and everything!!!!!! You can check out the tunes and even purchase it *winkwink* here! And check out track number 5 - I wrote it!!!!!!!!

The release party concert was incredible - we had this amazing duo open for us, and then BAM - we were on and the audience was there - totally there and listening and experiencing all the new songs with us. We have shows a lot, but it's different when it's an audience that's there for the music and not just for the pub experience. Lots of loved ones there - truly magical.

And to experience the totalness - here's some excerpts from e.mails we've gotten from concert go-ers from that night -

...I can't remember when I've had so much fun at a concert! The music was
wonderful, but even better, was watching you guys have so much fun on stage and invite the audience to share in the good times. You all have such easy "stage personas." ...

... Everyone in the band is so nice and supportive of each other and that really comes through when you perform. No diva like egos...

...Just wanted to let you know that I thought the Collies did the best show
I've seen them do on Friday and I enjoyed myself completely. It was kind of nice to be in a venue and just appreciate the music without having to play. The musicianship was right on, the arrangements were great, and the fact that you were enjoying the music really came through. You've developed a really recognizable band sound. It uses Celtic music as a touchstone without needing to follow all the conventions, sort of in the way that a lot of Americana music references bluegrass or country or blues but makes something fresh out of it. ...

...The band sound is really strong, solid and appealing with the core
members. Reva seems to have found a personal voice in what you're doing, and
I love the contributions Anna makes, especially on the bowed stuff. Well
done. You, Caeri and Howard have never sounded better...

Okay, you didn't need to hear all that, but it warms my heart to see how we're really a band now! I mean, the Collies have been around for years - like 5 - since before Anna and I showed up, but it has taken some time to meld into our lineup and we did it - we kicked booty!!!

And as life goes full circle, 2 days later I found myself yet again in Urmi's parent's house, jamming with her dad - me on fiddle, him on tabla and harmonium - just like I loved so much when I lived in Texas and was trying to find my sound and what I wanted to do with this whole violin thing. And I was back in his home, playing my new music and loving it. On the way home, Urmi told me how much mprovement there was in my sound sice she'd heard me in school - how much easier and personal I sounded - and I sat in the back seat, listening to her very honest opinions, and teared up a little. My sweatheart's arms were around me, my best friend and her husband were holding each other's hands in the front seat, and I had finally made MY music come out of my violin.

Just one of those moments where you're in awe of where this journey has taken you. All the hours of practicing... all the monstrous boyfriends (both Urmi's and mine;) - and then - wow. I like it here.

Now I'm in Atlanta with my beloved Dnielle still in bed and a messy messy house to try to contend with. I think I'll wait until tomorrow to post about our tour of East Texas and all the stuff Uncle Jimbo made us do - tractors... shooring a rifle (okay, that was Jared's fault) but the pictures and the memories are hilarious.

Till then, loves!

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel