border

happiness is my jorb

June 17, 2004 at 9:59 a.m.

Does it ever occur to you that your life is just simply magnificent and amazing?

And then someone comes along and looks at you funny or you find something out about someone that sounds absolutely amazing and all of the sudden, without meaning to, your balloon is simply burst?

It's re-DONK-ulous, that's what it is. And then you have to scratch your way up to being in command and feeling amazing again. Why oh why did that feeling come? Why was it the first reaction? What can we do about it??

As for me, I'm keeping myself in circles where nothing serves to make me feel bad. I GOTS to. After all the hard work I did to get to this point, it's not a desire to be happy and content - it's a need.

Mom just got ths book on happiness that says happiness is an obligation. I agree - it says something else that is interesting - most people live their lives waiting for something to make them happy, rather than trying to be happy unless something tragic comes along.

You have to work to be happy.

We really do - look what better people we feel like and are like when we're happy.

(just realized I'm preaching to the choir here, since most of you are my friends and you make me so crazy happy:)

Well, example time. My brother Quinn just lost his job - it's actually a really funny story, but I'll tell you that later if you ask. Anywho, it hit mom really hard - she was so upset for him and his wife and it brought up all these scary things about how when my dad lost his job. She was so sad she got sick.

Talking to Quinn made me feel really good - he was calm, had interviews lined up and he was good to go. But mom was still so scared.

Then yesterday Mom and I ended up shopping for window treatments because GOOD GRAVY - none of the 2nd floor windows have 'em amd I'm tired of trying to change in the dark or lying on the floor! And mom started feeling so much better. There's nothing like a little retail therapy to make you feel extra niiiice:)

And I realized that my mom as a rule never does these little things to make herself feel better - she doesn't know how. I mean, I had to learn how to pick up my spirits in little ways - movie night with the girls, pedicures, a chocolate cupcake, anything, but my mom never did. You HAVE to find happiness, you owe it to your body and the people around yu.

Did this tirade get too annoying? Hope it didn't. Just seems like a nice topic today, what with me feeling good and all.

Gotta work on that, anyway. You know what's great about coming home?

Annie time.

Now, at the risk of getting googled for other REALLLY weird things - look at what someone searched for - and ended up finding MY site -

MORMON MATING PANTS.

What the....?!?!?! It took them to my essay on being oungand LDS and single.

Still... WEIRD!!!!!!

Anywho, anotha brotha Dallin quit his jorb today and he's antsy and wants me to help clean up the basement with him. DANG my life is exotic!!

SUPERCRACK is HAPPY. Because there's no other way to be:)

rewind | forward

wife. mother. musician. bloggerist for 7 years. holding on for dear life.

Navigating my sea
Current
Archives
Profile
Family Blog
Photos
Miss Cheapstake

Contact
Notes
E-mail

Credit
Host

Last 5
mooooooooove - April 09, 2008
apples, personals, the works - April 07, 2008
conundrum - April 02, 2008
in a family way - March 27, 2008
mouse keeper - March 20, 2008

Blogs I Lurk
Jane� of Tarzan
Annie
The Mighty Quinn
Cathieanne
Camisado
Gabby
Manda
Holli
Chelsea
MatMunch
Clarity25
April's World
La-Blue-Eyez
GingerlyLizzy
Shanni
Elizabeth
Eden
Azucar
DYM
Yvonne
Ashley
Shannon
Almost Faye-mous
Feather 123
Little Miss
Barefoot Belle
Leah
Loobylu
Kellyim
Short Story
Tha Smifs
Mary
Em
Lizer
Heather Show
Captain Ron
Pink Poodle Prints
April's Life Adventures
elpassorepresentyo
clarity25
phoenixchild
andrew
spacemuppet
smittyclone
libbyo
boogabooga
als-pals
david-artois
bassclargrrl
falo
moonstrucke
ask-obiwan
savecraig
chickie-legs
monkeymom
boxer-briefs
la-blue-eyez
portia12
mangofarmer
mrsfieber
bebelua
unsentletter
coexistapart
iamafatgirl
dicentra
BigpimpinMBA
bindyree
teachin-usa
harri3tspy
goddesskiki
badbadzoot
tfrunner262
perceptions
skibigsky
captainron
lemonscarlet
smedindy
smartypants
the-moo
geoffchaucer
camham
sinnergi
cheeky-kiki
misspinkkate
twttrmchn
sugar-punk
emu-head
newlywedblis
lerin
momma-at-17
take-two
theswordsman
becca27
anita-girl
requiel